Encounter Walking


Walking Feedback and Reviews -

Falmouth to Plymouth - South West Coast Path

Read Reviews

Walk Reviews and Customer Feedback

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Rachel
When: 24 November 2016

UK FlagFabulous, end of November, 7 day walk from Place to Plymouth. Not a drop of rain all week and even walking in T-shirts on some of the days. Excellent organisation provided by Encounter Walking with bnbs all booked and luggage transfers all operating like clockwork, taking any stress and worry out of the equation. Had the path to ourselves for most of the time, making it a wonderful escape and delightful experience. I would definitely recommend this glorious route and booking through Encounter Walking.

Route: Helford Passage to Mevagissey
Name: Eva + 4
When: 07 October 2016
  • UK FlagWe had a terrific weekend walking thank you! Absolutely glorious and a wonderful stretch of coastline. Thank you so much for all your detailed guidance notes which were a great help to Nadine in particular. I think we only had a couple of comments:
  •  
  • The walking time on Saturday was out by about two hours having allowed for an hour for lunch at the Plume of Feathers to Portloe (?) We were able to rebook the taxi for 7pm (from booked 5pm) and all was well. Great lunch, lovely taxi driver (Dave), no problems!
  •  
  • We learnt that some taxi drivers stop working in October so we were apparently lucky to get ones when we needed. No sandwich lunch offered at the Mevagissey Bay Hotel but there are cafes open on Sunday morning for delicious crab sarnies!
  •  
  • Cafes on the route were closing early, about 3-4pm, to we missed out a couple of times. I think the closing times entirely depend on the weather, how many people are about, how the owners feel! Luckily we had plenty of snacks with us…!
  •  
  • So thank you, once again a lovely weekend. We’ve been incredibly lucky with the weather once again. Gorgeous.
  • Very best wishes, Eva
Route: Charlestown to Polperro
Name: Stan and Barb
When: 12 September 2016

USA FlagDamon, thanks so much. We had a fabulous time. The accommodations were excellent and the directions you provided kept us on course at every turn. We had good weather for all three days hiking .....Charleston to Fowey on day one, then Fowey to Polperro on day two and Polperro to Looe on day three.  The trek from Fowey to Polperro was the highlight in that we had perfect weather and spectacular views from the coast. The scene as we arrived in Polperro was picture perfect as the tide was in and the harbor was in perfect light for photographs.  We had dinner and drinks at the Blue Peter and talked with fellow travelers who hiked the trail that day. All in all it was a fabulous time. Thanks again. Stan and Barb Snow, Seattle Washington - Sept 2016 - Please feel free to post on your website. 

Route: SW Coastal Path- Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Travis Penn
When: 03 September 2016

USA FlagWe had a fabulous trip! Everything about it surpassed our expectations. The walks were beautiful- a bit more difficult than we anticipated but we managed the challenge. But the secluded coves, the sea cliffs, the lovely villages, the green pastures- all were exactly what we had dreamed of Cornwall being. The hotels were great- a variety from luxurious to slightly rustic. The details provided by Encounter Walking were perfect. We can't recommend them more highly. All the people were met along the way were warm and helpful. We ate delicious food- a bit too much and too often perhaps but it was a holiday! We have become fans of Tarquins Gin- will miss not be able to get it back in the USA. The walking notes provided were well done and we really appreciated the suggestions for eating and exploring. Thank you for a very memorable experience.

Route: Fowey to Plymouth
Name: Angela & Dennis
When: 26 August 2016

UK FlagThis is a lovely stretch of the coast path with spectacular views back towards the Lizard. The stages from Fowey to Polperro & Looe to Crafthole were quite hard in places but by pacing ourselves and stopping regularly we were able to cope without any problems. Great accommodation at all the stops with very friendly hosts especially Anne at Sea Breezes in Plymouth. We had excellent meals, particularly at the House on the Props and the Liscawn Hotel, and a very good value carvery athe Portbyhan in Looe. There are good snack stops at Whitsand Bay, Seaton and also at Portwrinkle. We had no problem finding the path except for the last 400 yards (sorry metres!) in Plymouth where we missed the path around the West Hoe headland. The other tricky part was just after Millendreath where the path has been diverted. However following Damon's instructions we found the path o.k. Thanks Damon, Ellie and the rest of the crew for yet another great holiday - possibly the best yet.

Route: St Ives to Falmouth
Name: P & W - Stuttgart
When: 22 August 2016

German FlagIt was a wonderful trip and a magnificent walk. The weather was nice, the guesthouses, pubs and B&Bs were friendly and comfortable, and the landscape was stunning. Although the walk was strenuous in some parts, we enjoyed every day.

Just for your information:
There were two places where we missed the way, because it wasn’t marked as good as usual:
Shortly after Percella Point there are some unmarked public footpaths and it is not clear which is coast path resp. which is footpath. We met other walkers who missed the way at this point as well.

Secondly, we couldn’t find the descent at Gew Grace, shortly before Kynance Cliff. But it was probably our inattention. The way through the grassland guided us inland at the gorge.

But we always found the right way after a short detour - so it didn't matter.

Thank you very much for your friendly help and for the perfect organisation.
We’ll come back if at all possible!

 

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Don and Ilona West
When: 07 August 2016

New Zealand FlagBig thanks to Damon and Encounter for excellent organisation and communication during the planning stages. The walk was wonderful - scenery stunning. Bag transfers all went like clockwork. Accommodation was fine throughout. Standout accommodation and meal was at the Lugger Hotel in Portloe. Also Sea Breeze in Plymouth was excellent. Only down was the very long and very boring walk to the hotel in Par at the end of that day - wonder if there could be an alternative? Thanks again and we will definitely recommend this organisation.

Route: Penzance to Plymouth SW Coast Path
Name: Birgit - Northeim
When: 06 July 2016

German FlagI've got to tell you that the walk was just really really enjoyable. Therewas nothing that was a problem, all the places I stayed at for a night or two where very different and worth the experience. The itinerary was well composed (meaning the distances were perfect and all the little pieces of information were very interesting). So I'd like to say thank you for a wonderful holiday!! 

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Mary- Australia
When: 07 June 2016

Australian FlagI found this walk a great experience. The coastal scenery and wildflower displays were spectacular and all the arrangements made by Encounter Walking worked like clockwork. On my two rest days, I walked to The Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project and would particularly recommend the latter. I have a poor sense of direction and was walking on my own but found that the guidebook and OS maps generally kept me on track. The fog was very thick on the day I walked from Portwinckle to Plymouth and I became disoriented while on the firing range; even the sea had become invisible and the usual gaps in a hedge or other markers of the path were not in view. In these sorts of conditions it may be advisable to follow the alternative path alongside the road. Thanks for your wonderful organization and support - I have no hesitation in recommending Encounter Walking to anyone considering a walk in this area.

Route: Falmouth to Portwrinkle
Name: KK - Amsterdam
When: 04 June 2016

Flag of the NetherlandsWe had a wonderful trip last week and we were so lucky with the weather. How absolutely beautiful to walk along the coast path and local people were so friendly.

Thank you for organizing our trip

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Roland EARL
When: 23 May 2016

Flag of AustraliaOverall a great 8 day walk with a good variety of conditions, views and places to see. For those our age, effective speed at times was not much better than 1 mph when lots of steps involved. Suggest not be too ambitious as to distance covered each day, 8 miles max unless it is easy going. Accommodation fine and bag transfers 100%. Need to refer both to Coast Path guide book and the OS map while walking. Directions leaving Par around Polmear were specially problematic with some direction arrows hard to interpret and a few posts missing. Most of the walk, the path markers were sufficient with only occasional checks of the maps needed.

Route: Falmouth to Fowey
Name: Dennis & Angela
When: 16 May 2016

Flag of the United KingdomAnother great walk on the Cornish coast path made even better by the profusion of spring flowers. The weather was mixed and we missed the views from Dodman due to the low cloud and rain but got spectacular views from Gribbin Head in the sunshine. The accommodation was excellent with an outstanding stay at the Lugger Hotel in Portloe. It's worth noting that the Mevagissey Bay Hotel does not provide evening meals even though their website suggests they do. Also if you intend to get a taxi back from Portscatho to Trewithian Farm, we recommend booking it in advance. We had no major problems finding the path although we had minor difficulties just after the Caerhays car park (need to head up hill and turn right behind the clump of trees) and again feeding the path out of Mevagissey from the quay (Trailblazer guide not too accurate here).

The path from Porthbean beach was not easy to find. You have to walk along the concrete walkway past the seasonal shop and then turn left up some steps into the woods. The steps are well hidden and not obvious until you are quite close to them. (When we comment about problems finding with the path we then think it's probably due to our own stupidity!). As a general comment we did find a few inaccuracies in the Trailblazer book particularly in the location, steepness and direction of some of the ups and downs. The luggage transfer worked very efficiently with our bags appearing as if by magic at our next stop. Once again Damon and the Encounter team for another (fifth or sixth?) excellent and enjoyable walking holiday.

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Lars and Lisa
When: 09 May 2016

We had a fantastic walk and it only rained for half a day during the whole walk. We sent pictures to friends here in China and they loved the look of it so who knows, maybe next time we bring a bunch of friends with us. 

Everything on the walk regarding luggage transfer was as smooth as can be expected, bag was always at our next destination when we arrived.  All the places we stayed in was very good, service and friendliness was spot on.

I have a few tips to other walkers, well first ones like us I should say. When deciding on the walk, how far to walk each day is an important one. Although I enjoyed the 20 or so km everyday the problem is that you don't get a chance to do anything else but walk. Having a rest day as we did in Fowey was perfect and could probably have one more in Looe. So if other walkers is doing the walk just as a exercise then fine, by all means do 20 km every day. If you want to see more of the surrounding area, besides the track, I suggest longer stopovers and/or shorter day walks.

Next walk we do in your areas we will surely use Encounter again!

Thank you Damon and the whole Encounter team!

Route: SWCP Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: D &J Poole
When: 06 October 2015

Flag of AustraliaThe walk had many highlights, wonderful views, little fishing villages and some pleasant downs after some rugged ups. The first and last days were challenging lengths but the fine and sunny weather when the rest of southern England was grey and miserable compensated. Some of the signage was intermittent, so we saw a bit more of Cornwall than planned especially around the Ropehaven cliffs. Otherwise the accommodation was excellent, particularly the B&Bs and the friendly and helpful hosts and luggage transfers went without a hitch. Finding the evening accommodation was easy using the walk notes from encounterwalking.

Route: South west coastal path Falmouth to Looe
Name: Clare
When: 01 October 2015

Flag of AustraliaThanks to Damon and Encounter walking holidays for a very well organised holiday. Damon even managed to give us an Indian Summer for the first few days with enough warmth and sunshine to go swimming. Our group had 3 different subgroups of friends/ family with varying starts and finishes and every permutation was seemlessly managed. We loved visiting The Lost Gardens of Heligan on the morning walk out of Mevagissey and would recommend that as an add on to the walk from there to Charlestown. The accommodation was welcoming and the trail notes excellent. All we had to do was walk, enjoy the stunning scenery and wildlife, and look forward to a good evening meal and comfortable bed. A perfect holiday.

Route: South West Coast Path Mevagissey to Polperro
Name: Cherry Schomberg
When: 16 September 2015

Flag of the United KingdomTrip very well organised by Encounter. We liked the fact that everything was very detailed in the itinerary so you knew exactly what was what each day. This was much appreciated. They also took the trouble to provide different options for each day as we were not sure exactly what we could fit in. The luggage transfers were brilliant and our cases were always at our accommodation when we arrived.

As for accommodation - the rooms in Buckingham House B&B were lovely, so bright and airy. People running it were very nice and helpful and breakfast delicious! Rooms in the Pier House Hotel were a bit small and warm! Food was good though and they had a nice cosy lounge where you could sit in the evening and watch the Rugby (if so inclined!). In Fowey we stayed in the King of Prussia and had a lovely large room with lots of goodies provided which was a nice touch. Nice view overlooking the harbour too. All the accommodation was very central though and close to everything. At Polperro we had difficulties finding the coastal path to Fowey - it wasn't easy to find and we had to ask for directions - not well signposted. We also visited the St Austell Brewery which is highly recommended - good beers and good food, also very friendly service. All in all a lovely walking trip - Cornwall is an amazing place to walk, especially if the weather is good, as it was for us. We'll be back and would definitely book with Encounter again.

Route: Falmouth to Polperro
Name: Sally & Alan Johnson
When: 07 September 2015

Flag of the United KingdomWe had a thoroughly enjoyable walk and cannot thank Damon and his colleagues enough for their attention to detail from the initial planning of our walk to immediately resolving a problem we experienced on the first day. The scenery was stunning and varied, the route mainly easy to follow, the main exception being rejoining the coastal path after Par. We too, found the path a little too close to the cliff edge approx 1.5 miles from Polperro.

All the accommodation was very good, although breakfast at the Rashleigh Arms was very limited compared to all the others. We had some excellent evening meals in both pubs and restaurants which were generally not too far from our accommodation (the owner of one establishment even offered to pick us up!). We walked 8-12 miles daily and whilst we felt that we could have comfortably managed more, it was nice to be able to spend some time looking around the villages where we stayed. We were very lucky with the weather which was an unexpected bonus! Once again, many thanks to The Encounter Team for organising a great trip.

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Keith and Coralie
When: 07 September 2015

Flag of the United KingdomThe joy of our walk began with Encounter's excellent notes that answered all questions. Accommodation arranged for each night was good to excellent. The luggage transfers were spot on! We found the walking to be quite strenuous but rewarding and enjoyed fine weather throughout. Our most enjoyable meal was at a small Italian restaurant in Looe. The more expansive views towards the end of the walk were our favourites. Overall, a delightful experience for a pair of older Aussies.

Route: South West Coast Path - Falmouth to Plymoutn
Name: Ellen & Brian - Canada
When: 06 September 2015

Flag of CanadaMany thanks to Damon and Encounter Walking Holidays for a very memorable, enjoyable hiking holiday! We were very pleased with all our accommodations and breakfasts, but some stood out for us as extra special: The Well House (Fowey), The Bungalow (Crafthole), Honeycombe House (Mevagissey), and the Falmouth Hotel. Luggage transfers all worked well, with our bags always waiting for us when we arrived at our B & B. Although I was a little worried about the length and difficulty of the trail (ups and downs) on some days, it turned out that some of the most strenuous days were our favourites. Favourite sections included Mevagissey to Charlestown, Fowey to Looe, and Crafthole to Plymouth. We had a few issues finding our way between Portloe and Gorran Haven, in the field just after Caerhay's Castle; in Par; at the far end of Par Beach in the car park area; and after Looe, near and just after the monkey sanctuary. Enjoyable stops and meals included The Ship Inn in Portloe, the waterfront pub in Charlestown, the Liscawn Inn in Crafthole for dinner, and cream tea at The Old Bakery in Cawsand. We were very lucky with the weather, having only about an hour of serious rain as we arrived in Looe, and light showers on and off the last day. We were extremely happy with the local knowledge offered by Encounter, and have already recommended them to our fellow hikers and our friends at home.

Route: From Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Erik Spiesschaert
When: 28 August 2015

Flag of BelgiumThe walking holiday was a success because it was perfectly organised. My congratulations. Ten days of walking between Falmouth and Plymouth, and a day’s rest in the middle in Fowey was just the right thing for us (65’ers who walk 25 kilometers on a flat course once a month). More would have been too strenuous. And the weather was very kind, only 2 hours of rain during the ten days of our walk. Who says it rains that much in England?

The first, long diversion between Looe and Portwrinkle is already marked, you have just to follow the signs. (You mentioned the diversion, you didn’t mention it was marked on the ground, as you did for the second short diversion). The sleeping accommodation was all right. As we don’t know the prize for each accommodation, we can’t compare prize and quality. The poorest was T’Gallants Guest House in Charlestown. I couldn’t shave (or I didn’t find where I could plug in my shaver) and the waiters and waitresses in the Rashleigh Arms didn’t take their time to answer our questions (understaffed?).

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Dawn Prentice
When: 01 August 2015

Flag of the United KingdomThe planning and information given from encounter walking holidays was superb. There are a couple of points that I would like to make which didn't spoil our experience but e think heed addressing. 1. The accommodation in Charlestown is niw run by the local public house which is a stroll away up a hill...After waking all day we had to ho there and check in then take our luggage down the hill to the accommodation and up flights of stairs...my husband didn't have wheels on his and it was a problem. 2. The accommodation in Fowey was very quaint and lovely hosts...The bed was very small and my husband is 6"3 also the nesting seagulls on the roof ment we didn't sleep even with ear plugs. The walks were wonderful and the views exceptional tge food and drink along the way we're good. Upon hindsight we would of walked two days and rest a day etc but I would definitely use this company again a brilliant holiday. Roll on the next one!!!

Route: Southwest coast path Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Ietje ter haar
When: 31 July 2015

Flag of the NetherlandsWe had a great time walking, the weather was fine. All the bed and breakfasts were great exept the one in fowey, the galjoen inn. IT was not clean ! The services of encounter walking Holidays was great. If we are gone walk in england again we certainly Will do iT with you. Thank you for everything! Allaart en ietje ter Haar.

Route: Mevagissey to Looe
Name: Rudi Holt
When: 27 July 2015

Flag of NorwayThis has been a fantastic walk!! Except walking the golf course and behandling the old factory in Par, the whole trip was absolutely wonderful. The best part was from Fowey to Polperro where we walked alone in beautiful weather. In Ropeheaven we had problem finding the path - no sign telling is to turn left, so we walked almost down to the sea. The accomodations where ok - except for Schooner in Looe which is great - we love this B&B! Coming back to Norway, we will sure tell our friends about this - and I'm sure we will contact Encounter Walking again. Great service - thank you all! Rudi & Knut

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Cynthia Cooper
When: 01 July 2015

Flag of the United States of AmericaDear Damon, Our troupe definitely enjoyed our walking vacation with the exception of one very bad storm that drenched everything, including our boots, and gave us much misery that day. We’d pay extra to avoid that weather if we could! We never gave our luggage transfer a second thought because it worked perfectly. The same with our accommodations, though there were some places we enjoyed more than others. Our goal was to find a nice place to walk from town to town and not be too far from civilization, and chose the Falmouth to Plymouth leg of the Coastal Path. It seemed as though it would be fine, but WOW! was it ever a spectacular place to hike! We had never known that the Cornwall coast was so scenic and so utterly unspoiled and wonderful. A group of friends (and then even more friends came for a long weekend) joined us for a hike from Falmouth to Plymouth which was an incredible experience. We met many other hikers, some just out walking dogs close to home, some out for a full day's hike, some just for a picnic and others who were tackling even longer stretches than we were. However you do it, we all gave this particular 77 miles a hearty thumbs up. For the most part, the trail was well marked so that way-finding was not a problem.

There were some places, though, when we truly were clueless about which way to go and had to wander about before we figured it out. In several places there were no signs at very essential crossroads or tees and, in several other places the wooden signposts had completely rotted and had fallen to the ground. (these were easier to figure out, as we could deduce the correct directions from the confluence of the paths and the arrows.) The ordinance survey maps sometimes were not that much help, either, but at least we had them! We did badly lose our way at some point after the Gribbin Daymark tower going toward Fowey which nearly doubled the length of our walk; we are still trying to figure out why... suffice it to say that, if there were signs there, we did not see them.

In some places the path led through towns or near pubs or beach concession stands and one could purchase food and drink. In other places, the path was more remote and we'd made provisions to carry food with us, either prearranging sandwiches from our inn or purchasing something from a shop on our way through town. We had made careful note of this and planned. I also carried protein bars and apples in my backpack along with plenty of water. (water is extremely heavy as 1 Liter = 2.2 pounds) I was the one who walks most regularly and the one who knew how difficult the terrain would be. I am not sure my husband and friends would have come if they could have foreseen it! PLEASE NOTE: I DID WARN THEM. (and, in their defense, they DID train.)

This section of the coast path was very scenic and very varied, woodlands, sandy paths, beaches, hayfields, cows, dartmoor ponies and on and on. We loved the rugged paths and the variety and the views. The great views were paid for, of course, by very steep climbing and many, many stair steps. We all came to dread looking ahead across a headland to see another hundred steps cut into the other side! Whenever I came to steps built into a cliff, I silently thanked whomever it was who lugged stone or lumber or cement to build these vertical passes. Aloud, however, I am sorry to admit that I may have cursed! Maybe not on the first thousand steps... but certainly after that! Down and up, up and down, both... both are hard! The steep ascents and descents made for longer walks than we were used to. I'd recently covered 15.5 miles in 6-ish hours, including breaks, but found that that same distance took us nearly 9 hours in Cornwall. More difficult terrain along with frequent photographic stops accounted for this... and our crew was dead tired by the time each day's walk ended.

The most impressive thing was looking backward and being able to see headland beyond headland... all of which we had just traversed! It was amazing. Bathrooms were an interesting aspect of walking here, some towns had public facilities that were permanently closed due to lack of funding. In some places, townspeople fought to keep them open and, either by collecting donations or by recruiting volunteers, they somehow managed to do it. Some loos requested donations from users, which we all gladly paid, since a public bathroom is a wonderful thing when you need one. SUGGESTION! add extra nights! We also added a few extra nights in places where we wanted to sightsee but we should have added even more because there was never enough time to see everything that looked interesting. I'd suggest spending a second night in Falmouth because it is large and scenic. We added a sightseeing day both in Mevagissey and Fowey and were happy not to have missed Lanhydrock and Restormel Castle there!

We wished we had added a night to stay in Polperro Beach but, because we were walking through it from Fowey to Looe, we had to keep on going. Who knew that Polperro would have been a great place to stay!? Not to mention that the walk TO there was enough to exhaust us! We didn't need to push on to Looe at that point because we'd already had a strenuous walk. If you can, walk from Fowey to Polperro; the mileage may seem short but it is strenuous. I'd also have liked to spend much longer in Looe, as well. The shops and restaurants were wonderful and I didn't get to browse in the two bookstores that looked so nice!

Encounter Walking describes an extra day as a "rest day for tired walkers" which makes it sound like you are too tired to get out of bed! Or, worse, that you are weaklings! Even if that is true, we looked on those extra days as an opportunity to visit manor houses, museums and gardens, etc. Just think of them as sightseeing days. Because, even on those days, we put in plenty of miles walking around... just not on the official coast path! If you add extra days for sightseeing, you will be happy that you did.

To sum it up: We'd all recommend this section from Falmouth to Plymouth for its beauty, relative ease and access to towns, inns, pubs, other sights and comforts. Thank you for planning such a great trip for us! What a wonderful hike we had!

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Alan & Barbara
When: 22 June 2015

Flag of the United KingdomFor the second year in a row, we had a great time walking some of the coast path in Cornwall. Accommodation stops were all good and offered a variety of rooms/styles/outlooks/personalities. This leg was less rugged that the land's end leg that we walked last year, but no less enjoyable for that. Well organised and a holiday that we will long remember.

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Cor Mak & Marianne Sosef
When: 08 June 2015

Flag of NetherlandsFirst time we walked with Encounter Walking. Wonderful holidays. We did the relaxed way but some days it was quite tough however. But we enjoyed each day! Accomodations very friendly and luggage transfer perfect.

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: M & D Germany
When: 04 June 2015

Flag of GermanyWe came back from Cornwall on Tuesday . The holiday was very nice and everything worked super good . Fortunately for us, seemed the sun . I enjoyed the holiday very much , my husband, however, not so much . He is blind and it was for him but very tiring . The roads are so narrow and so we was slow , making him very angry , because he wanted to make it in the specified time . Sure, that 's just not . But now he is happy to have managed this challenge . He has for the evenings in the pub enjoyed more than I do. The variety of accommodation we also found very good. My husband has two favorites : The " Trewithian " and " Schooner Point " . All in all - thank you for the excellent planning .
 

Route: Mevagissey to Looe
Name: Sandy - New Jersey
When: 03 June 2015

Flag of the United States of AmericaWe had a fabulous walk-and except for a little rain on Thursday morning (which helped us appreciate even more-if that was possible the glorious sun) the weather was perfect.  It was truly a memorable trip for the three of us.  Incredible landscape, perfect amount moderate and strenuous walking (though we were a little freaked out at the closeness of the path to the high cliff edge about 45 minutes before Polperro) and gorgeous seaside towns. Thanks for all your advice (i.e. not to stay overnight in Par-for one.) 

We really enjoyed all the accommodation and my only negative comment would be the King of Prussia-where they have earplugs by the bed because of the loud music that comes out of the pub at night. That might disqualify it as an upgrade option. Or at least a warning might be helpful when making a choice between it and the other accommodation.  T Gallant and the Mevagissey Bay Hotel were the highlights.

All this said, I cannot express adequately what an amazing three days we had. We have travelled far and wide, and the Cornwall coast is one of the most magical places we've ever been. And to walk along it was an extraordinary experience!

Thanks again for all your help!

Route: Marazion to Falmouth
Name: Jenni & Deb
When: 30 May 2015

Flag of AustraliaWe had a great walk on the SWC path. At times we had a little difficulty finding the correct path and some places were not marked very well. We really enjoyed the beautiful scenery and villages we passed through and/or stayed at. All accommodation was quite good, we especially enjoyed a fabulous rest day at Coverack and Ann, owner of the lovely Fernleigh B&B even provided a Birthday Cake for me on our arrival. The Caerthillian Guest House at The Lizard was also particularly lovely. The owner there Austin was a fabulously friendly guy and nothing too much bother. I will recommend a very good restaurant at The Lizard called Coast; quite near the Top Pub but much better standard of food & wine and service. We had a really top dinner there. The lighthouse tour was also very good at The Lizard.

Route: Falmouth-Plymouth
Name: Christer, Marianne, Tommy, Mia - Sweden
When: 07 May 2015

Flag of SwedenThis was the first but maybe not the last time we spend a holiday like this, it was fantastic. Everything worked out perfect, luggage transfer, accommodation, breakfast and even the weather was perfect, a first walking day with some rain but after that no more rain and lots of sunshine, a lovely tan on the right side of our bodies. And it is so good to now that after a day of walking there is a room whit a soft bed waiting for you, but first a well-earned dinner and some pints of Cornish beer.

All of our accommodation was super, of course some of them felt a little bit better but it could depend on our physical condition at that time. The path was very easy to follow and we just went wrong only one time at the Tregantle fort. The contact whit Encounter Walking was friendly and very helpful, thank you Damon.

Route: Falmouth to Looe
Name: A. M. Norway
When: 02 May 2015

Flag of NorwayWe had a great trip! Everything worked as you had planned for us, so nice and easy!  

Weather was, well, lots of all kinds of it. But we never got really wet and really cold, by our standards, so happy enough about that J . Walking was fine, conditions on paths and routes were really good all the way. Due to some knee problem the others took a short taxi ride and a bus ride the last day, but enjoyed that too! All accommodation was good, with T Gallants in lovely Charlestown and the Portloe Ship Inn as the clear winners! Great places, both!

Bags transfer worked like magic every day! All in all we are so happy with the whole trip. Hope to do another section some time!. Thank you very much!

Route: SW Coast Falmouth to Plymouth - Walking
Name: Kas Healy
When: 25 April 2015

Flag of the United States of AmericaWonderful trip. Damon was great at organizing the distances and terrain. I didn't want to turn a 'walking holiday' into an oxymoron like 'airplane food'. Damon was fantastic at making that possible. The B&B's were all excellent, the luggage transfers perfect. I made some good friends along the way. The Coastal walk was spectacular. Thank you so much for arranging a walk that made such lovely memories.

Route: Falmouth to Polperro
Name: Stephen Dawson
When: 03 April 2015

Flag of the United KingdomAccommodation only a few minutes from Falmouth Town station made for an easy start, and the first of four sea views from the five rooms of my holiday. A lovely walk round Pendennis Point on the first evening set things up nicely. The weather on the first full day was wet and windy throughout, and I was therefore the only person on the St Mawes ferry (whose timetable advertised on the quayside bore little resemblance to the one on their website or that in the SWCP Assocation book). But still some lovely walking in the rain to Portloe (small but lovely), and then better weather for day two to Mevagissey (a little bigger and busier, but a wonderful place) and day three to Par. Mevagissey as far as Charlestown and its gorgeous harbour and tall ships is almost all up and down (though the ups and downs aren't as big as some on the north coast), after which the walking becomes much easier but the scenery deteriorates for the last section - Par is perhaps not the ideal end to a multi-day walk as it may feel anticlimactic. For me the final day was Par to Polperro in unbroken sunshine. As far as Fowey is beautiful (Polkerris is lovely both from high above and up close) but fairly easy; although the information from Encounter warned that the second section of the walk is challenging, the hard work gradually builds from Lantic Bay onwards with two big ascents saved till last - this really is a day that gets harder from start to finish, but it is an extremely rewarding one with stunning coastal scenery and a wonderful climax at the really delightful Polperro (especially with my bedroom overlooking the harbour). In the morning a bus easily took me to Looe to catch a train home. No problems at any stage - info was helpful, directions perfect, accommodation great, luggage transfers smooth.

Route: Mevagissey to Looe
Name: Farrah
When: 21 October 2014

Flag of the United KingdomThis was my first big walk and I had no clue how to plan one, but Encounter Walking recommended the perfect route and ensured that everything went smoothly for me. The views were stunning, the walk itself just the right balance of challenging and relaxed. My luggage was transferred every day without a hitch and the accommodation was unfailingly clean and welcoming, with fantastic breakfasts. I've already decided to do the Lands End route next :)

Route: Helford Passage to Mevagissey
Name: Di Wilton
When: 28 September 2014

Flag of the United KingdomOur third walk with Encounter Walking and all arrangements went smoothly. We had perfect weather to enjoy both the walking and the coastal scenery. Accommodation was very good: we enjoyed our stay at Gold Martin in Mawnan Smith where Clare delighted us with her flower paintings. We walked down to the Helford River through Glendurgan Gardens (NT) - note that these are now open Tuesday-Sunday, with access to the coastal path. Special mention must be made of Barbara and John at Carradale in Portloe: when they realised that the Ship Inn was not providing an evening meal, they not only reserved a table at the pub in Veryan but provided a taxi service there and back. Highlights included the access to the little coves along the walk, the many birds (though some of them remain, for us, LBJs!) and the richness of the wild flowers. The view from the top of Nare Head is superb, well worth the climb. Sadly an underlying health problem meant that we had to curtail our walk at Portloe. Thank you to Damon and the team.

Route: Mevagissey to Looe
Name: Charlie
When: 21 August 2014

Flag of the United KingdomThe walk went very well and we were extremely fortunate with the weather. Although the Sun didn’t shine all the time ,there was only a 15 minute heavy shower by the Carlyon Bay Hotel and golf course when we donned wet weather gear. About a couple of hours after reaching Looe the weather closed in and we drove back the following morning in mist and rain.

The scenery on the walk was wonderful,being by the water ,almost the whole way is a real bonus.

The walk was perhaps strenuous for longer than we expected ,but good for fitness.

The accommodation, baggage arrangements,maps etc were all excellent,which made for a very stress free holiday.

Route: Fowey to Plymouth
Name: David
When: 08 August 2014

Flag of the United KingdomAnd so some feedback on our first holiday in Cornwall:

We thought your construction of a bespoke itinerary for us was excellent, as was the luggage transfer arrangements. We loved Fowey and The Fowey Hotel and really appreciated the fantastic view from our upgraded room (room 102).

In Looe we did find it a bit of a slog out of the town to Barclay House and would ideally have preferred something in West Looe. We thought Rame Head was spectacular and Cawsand/Kingsand quite delightful. We also very much appreciated both the welcoming text message from Alibetts and Mike’s efforts to arrange an evening meal for us.

We also loved the Mount Edgcumbe Estate and found Plymouth very interesting. In particular we can highly recommend the tour of the Plymouth Gin Distillery which was very educational and good value (with a complimentary gin & tonic at the end) and the tour of the Citadel (with the fantastically knowledgeable guide).

And we also appreciated how lucky we were with the weather! Best regards,

David

Route: Falmouth - Looe
Name: Evelyn Hilbeck
When: 05 August 2014

Flag of GermanyThere ist nothing to complain about our tour! You organized everything perfectly, our Hosts were all very friendly, humorous and the b&bs were originally, comfortable, beautiful and clean. We´re glad that the weather was perfect for Walking, though we had to realise that the distances were exhausting for us. After all we can say: It was an unforgettable trip! Thanks for all!

Route: Plymouth to Falmouth
Name: Peter
When: 30 July 2014

Flag of the United KingdomThanks to all at Encounter for a very enjoyable trip, even the weather was playing ball. The luggage transfers also went without a hitch which was much appreciated. On the accommodation front all was in order and the hospitality was excellent throughout. Special mentions to those at Sea Breezes, Schooner Point, King of Prussia and Tregorran.

We’ve started now so I’m guessing we may not have finished…

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Jason - Coventry
When: 19 July 2014

Flag of the United KingdomHi Damon, fantastic week and got unbelievable weather, simply could not have had better weather

Highlight of the week was the afternoon walk from Fowey to Polperro, probably the best scenery on the entire Cornish coast path ? Really enjoyed overnight in Mevagissey & Fowey, lovely places

Had a swim on Cawsand beach before Cremmel & Polbean beach before Polpero, nice and quiet

The path was general easy to follow with the book but you can get a bit lost in places if you don’t keep your eyes open, lots of paths lead off to dead ends in places and look like the proper path !!

Fantastic week though and look forward to booking Minehead to westward Ho with you next year.

Route: Mevagissey to Looe (South West Coast Path)
Name: Anouk & Nadine
When: 05 June 2014

Flag of GermanyThis was our very first walking holiday, but is was a tremendous success. We will definitely do this again! Many thanks to Encounter Walking for the perfect organisation. What a luxury to have your luggage transferred and B&B's booked... something we could get used to! We were very lucky with the weather: not a drop of rain and everyday glorious sunshine.

Some feedback about out trip: Accommodation: three out of four nights were just perfect. That B&B in Mevagissey... the best room in town, no doubt about it! All the hosts were very friendly and helpful, we felt at home and welcome. Makes you wonder why we ever stay in anonymous hotels?? The stay above the pub in Fowey however was (I'm sorry, there's no other word for it) horrible. Not suitable for walkers who are tired and want to get to bed early (on top of that it was live music night...). Not as clean as the other places, not as much love put into offering guests a comfortable stay and no hot water. But we didn't let that ruin our mood!

Thanks for telling us Anouk - we are contacting the place in question particularly about the hot water and to try and establish when music nights will be happening - for those thinking of walking the route note that there are other non pub options in Fowey that can be used for those who want to avoid them.  EW.

Eating: we made very good use of the tips Encounter and our B&B's provided and that was very satisfactory. Different local seafood everyday, that's not too bad!

Walking: the combined information of the guidebook, the map, the signposts and Encounter's information got us where we wanted to go. When in doubt, the missing piece of information was usually in one of our resources. And when not, we just decided to keep the sea on our right! The only two points where we actually went wrong, was in Pentewan and in Par. The sign at the end of the village Pentewan was very well hidden and the road seemed to be somebody's driveway. We realized soon enough, but not after climbing the entire tarmac road at 20% incline... At least after that we knew even the smallest side road could be the right road. In Par we couldn't find the path at the end of the beach. Sign hidden behind parking meter... Following signs for the Saints' Way we found our way back soon enough, the detour was probably only just short of a mile.

The route: the stretch between Mevagissey and Looe is just gorgeous. The bit between Fowey and Polperro was very strenuous but doable, especially after learning this is one the toughest parts of the entire South West Coast Path! Now we know we can handle it all! For untrained walkers with an average physical condition, this three day walk was just right. A challenge that was nice to master, not exhausting or painful. The difficulty of the path was nothing like some mountain walks we have done before. All in all, very happy we went to Cornwall and very happy we booked with Encounter Walking! When can we go again?

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Sue Hartmann
When: 14 May 2014

Flag of GermanyHave just returned from walking from Falmouth to Plymouth. We chose the 'relaxed route' ie, did it in 9 days. For anyone who enjoys walking but also wants to enjoy the beautiful views and countryside and not have a race, would recommend this time. We cheated a bit by taking the bus from Polurean to Polperro (which was an experience in itself!) in order to spend some time in the picturesque village of Polperro. If we hadn't have done this the 12 mile strenuous walk would have been a bit much in one day.

The organisation was brilliant and accommodation was superb. The view from our balcony on to Mevagissey harbour at Honeycombe House was magnificent; sleeping in the Tudor Room at The Well House in Fowey was like going back centuries; at Schooner Point in Looe we were given freshly made flapjacks to keep us going during the day and we felt like landowners staying at The Liscawn Country Hotel in Crafthole. A must here is to visit the community run village store, Basil (91) served us and was disappointed we only bought a bottle of water! Our warmest welcome was given by Anne at Sea Breezes in Hoe, Plymouth. We were a bit worried about getting to the station the next day because all roads were closed due to a cycling event, but Anne managed everything!

The map and descriptions we had were perfect (most of the time we didn't need our map because the acorn indicators were adequate). Any diversions due to the bad storms earlier on in the year are clearly marked and there is no need to take the diversion at St Anthony's Head as there are planks of wood next to the footbridge undergoing repair. We had 9 days of beautiful weather with only a couple of rain showers. This is what made our holiday so great. I wouldn't want to walk parts of the coastal path for hours in the rain. In parts it was so overgrown that you would get terribly wet legs and feet and wouldn't see the path, which I would expect to get very muddy and slippery. Thank you Encounter Walking for everything. We will certainly recommend you.

Route: Falmouth to Fowey
Name: Margaret Donnelly
When: 06 May 2014

Flag of CanadaArrangements were outstanding throughout our trip. Delightful B&Bs, good directions, and luggage always at our destination. This is a gorgeous part of the coast, and the little villages are picturesque. The best meal we had was at the Ship Inn in Portloe - baked cod to die for! The best b&b was the Carradale in Portloe. Thanks for the impeccable planning!

Route: Fowey and Padstow Walks
Name: Alex - USA
When: 20 April 2014

Flag of the United States of AmericaWe had a fantastic time.  And our last day was all sun, despite the bad weather you had.  Unless you are talking about Saturday, but we were traveling that day, so it made it easier to leave in the rain.  The arrangements all went off perfectly, and we loved both B&Bs.  They were comfortable, welcoming, and the buildings were full of character.  Tim and Paula were lovely hosts, as were Janet and Ian.  Ian even drove us to the bus on our last morning.  They all gave us good advice on the walks (Janet suggested doing the Trevonne walk in the reverse, starting with the inland part so the hills weren't so bad and we got the views going into the estuary, which worked well for us.  And Tim suggested an extension of the Hall walk to Lantic Bay, if we had energy, which we did.  It was gorgeous, and worked out perfectly, since we skipped that part of the walk later in the week, when we needed a rest day.) We ended up taking an easy day on our Polperro day, and just walked from Talland cove to Polperro, then took the bus back.  Graham dropped us off at Talland and we spent the morning there.  The first of three lovely sunny days.  

Your restaurant recommendations were all excellent.  Loved the Rashleigh Arms on the beach.  Especially welcome because of the rain on the last hour of the walk.  I thought Paul Ainsworth was a bit overrated, but it was nice.  

The coastal path leaving REadymoney beach in Fowey is closed due to storm damage, as was the past leaving Talland Beach toward Polperro, but the alternate routes were well marked.  

I loved the walks on both coasts.  

Route: Fowey area and Padstow area
Name: Kjersti-Norway
When: 14 April 2014

Flag of NorwayWe (2 adults and two boys, 5 and 7 years) had an amazing holiday in Fowey and Padstow. Excellent weather, very nice people and beautiful walks. Accommodation at the Galleon inn in Fowey was good, the boys loved the possibility of playing snooker in the bar. Very friendly and helpful staff. We did one walk every day while there, circular Hall walk, circular walk to Polkerris and one walk including transportation from Polperro to Fowey. Spent about 5,5 hours including breaks on the two longest walks. The walk from Polperro requires reasonably fit children that are used to walking, and should maybe not be the first one you try out on in the area. In Padstow we had transfer to Port Quinn and walked along the coast to Padstow while our luggage was taken to the hotel. Then one "rest day" on the Camel trail with hired bikes that was great fun for the boys, and finally a circular walk to Trevone with lovely beaches on the way. We are used to trekking from Norway, bur really loved the atmosphere and landscape in Cornwall. The detailed day-to day schedule we had from Damon made it all very easy for us as we spent no time planning what to do the next day,-only enjoying. Two centre walk was a good alternative for us as we got to see different parts of the coast as well as not having to pack/ unpack every day. One advice for Polkerris on a sunny day (and I think school holiday) Book table in advance, or be prepared for a possibly very long wait. Many good Padstow restaurants were fully booked long time in advance for the whole Easter, and is something you might want to check up on before going if you want to try something other than the pub-food. We hope to come back and see more!

Route: Mevagissey-Plymouth
Name: Tom Dens-Belgium
When: 08 April 2014

Flag of BelgiumWonderful 5-day walk with splendid views and fine weather. Great organisation by Encounterwalking, including nice B&B's, luggage transfer and itinerary. Path diversions, due to cliff falls, were well indicated. Around Fowey path signs were a bit confusing. Thank you for the excellent organisation.

Route: Fowey Walking Break
Name: S Clarke +1 and dog
When: 04 February 2014

Flag of the United KingdomWe are back home safely, thank you, and nothing but happy memories of our brief, dramatic Cornish getaway! We loved the walk to Polkerris and had a fabulous lunch at the Rashleigh Arms (?) pub on the beach, before walking home along the Saints Way. The Fowey Hall Hotel was also fabulous, we had a delicious dinner and wine by the fire with our labrador - heaven, and the most comfortable bed, I think, ever! The next day we took the ferry to Polruan and did the Hall Walk, which was beautiful, and then we decided to drive home that night and give Padstow a miss. We were happy not to be walking in the gales and the mud and the rain once we got home, but overall had a fantastic time, and maybe will try and do Padstow or another area soon. Funnily enough I think the dog is the most tired of all three of us, but we all really, really enjoyed it and are grateful for all your advice and help. Feeling very lucky to be warm and dry, and not flooded, and looking forward to our next trip, perhaps in the summer! 

Route: Fowey One Centre Walking Holiday
Name: 6 walkers from Sweden/UK
When: 27 September 2013

Flag of SwedenFlag of the United KingdomExcellent recommendation from Damon to stay in one location ( highly enjoyable Fowey ) and do day walks to the surrounding villages. Friendly and nice accommodation at the King of Prussia in Fowey. We had a fantastic holiday and were most impressed by the very professional arrangements by Encounter Walking Holidays.

Route: Mevagissey to Fowey plus circular Hall walk
Name: Karen May
When: 23 September 2013

Flag of the United KingdomI had a very enjoyable two and a half days walking on the southwest coast path with my son and his partner. The weather could have been kinder but it did not dampen our spirits. The organisation and information from Encounter were excellent and so were the B&Bs at Mevagissey, Charlestown and Fowey. The owners at Honeycombe House in Mevergissey directed us to a road nearby where free car parking was available. The luggage transfer worked a treat and everyone was very helpful and friendly. From Charlestown to Fowey we did miss our route on a couple of occasions around the golf course and at Polridmouth) and were surprised that the way marking signs were not more in evidence. We should have kept a closer eye on the OS map but as it was raining we probably got lazy about getting the map out! We had a great time and want to do more.

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Andrew (UK)
When: 06 September 2013

Flag of the United KingdomJust a brief (and rather late) message to thank you for another well organised holiday.  Everything went well and we had a good time.  There were no problems with the bookings, and the baggage transfer was flawless.   The accommodation was the usual delightful variety. 

Route: Mevagissey to Fowey
Name: Jo & Steve Mead
When: 26 July 2013

Flag of the United KingdomWe had a fantastic weekend, helped of course by the glorious weather. We loved Mevagissey; the room with the balcony overlooking the bay was a bonus. The walk to Charlestown was as described - a lot of sharp ascents - but manageable and with some great views. The walk from Charlestown to Fowey was longer, but with more gentle hills and although it was a shame to have to spend time walking around the back of the china clay works, not being able to see the sea, lunch at the pub in Polkerris amply made up for this.

We took two wrong turns - one on the first route at Ropehaven where we were so busy looking at a bench on our left that we missed the sign on our right and one on the second route at the end of Polridmouth beach, when someone held the gate open for us and so we went through it! (We turned back once we realised what we'd done). The luggage transfers were effortless (for us!) - what a great idea! We had hoped to take the ferry back to the car, but unfortunately had been cancelled due to the weather. The bus was fine, and added another dimension to our holiday, although one of our fellow passengers suggested it resembled a ride at a theme park as we rounded some of the corners! All in all, great organisation and helpful advice in response to some pre-holiday emails queries led to a brilliant holiday in a beautiful part of the world. Thank you Damon.

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Tünde + Martin, Switzerland
When: 19 June 2013

Flag of SwitzerlandThat was the third time we walked in Cornwall. I must say it was excellent. The weather was perfect, 15-20°C (for walkers ideal) dry (half an hour with rain in 11 days). The walk was wonderful and not so strenuous. There were less ups and downs as between Bude and Padstow. For my knees it was just perfect. The wievs were amazing, a lot of beautiful flowers, very friendly landladies and wellcomes, clean rooms, good food and drinks. The discriptions were clear and easy to understand.Everything was very good arranged. Thank you Damon and crew! We enjoyed our holyday.

Route: SWCP Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Chris and Maureen
When: 01 June 2013

Flag of the United KingdomThis was our 4th consecutive year with Encounter and was as excellent as ever, The organisation was brilliant and the luggage service the same. We had 7 days of cloudless blue skies and temperatures of 23-25C FANTASTIC, A number of sections were affected by landslides and we at one point heading towards Gribbin when a sign directed us onto a well maintained path which after about 2 miles was roped off. we were not prepared to backtrack so negotiated a couple of barbed wire fences and in fact found a couple of newly placed small yellow markers that helped us to go into Gribbin directly. Someone has been naughty but helpful putting those markers there. We were surprised at how much road walking there was in the last two days of the walk heading to and away from Portwrinkle, All in all another excellent holiday, We will be back next year. Thank you Damon and your team

Route: Falmouth to Fowey
Name: Simon Hoy
When: 20 May 2013

Flag of the United KingdomOverall a great walk with some quite 'strenuous' parts as indicated on your itinerary! Terrific scenery of course and we were so, so lucky with the weather, even if the wind was strong and chilly at times. The places we stayed were generally very good,as usual. Falmouth stop(Grove hotel) was comfortable and there are lot's of bakeries open quite early on way to ferry which was usefull for lunch stuff. A little easy to get confused which way to go after second ferry. We got a bit mixed up as did others we spoke to. Nothing too bad and maybe we weren't reading the map very well! The Ship Inn at Portloe was, again, very comfy however the en suite shower cubicle was hardly big enough to turn round in! Good job it was only 1 night. Mevagissey is just fab. Glad I chose this for a day off. We stayed at Honeycombe House which is fab too with a fantastic view of the harbour from the breakfast room. It's on a very steep hill going down to the town! Next stop Charlestown and Gallants guest house which was very nice. The first pub and bistro next too each other, as you come into Charlestown on the path, are best places for evening drink/eats if you don't want to walk far. The next part of walk was interesting. Lovely walking around golf course and beach then around Par the beach path disappears. only when someone passing told us it goes inland through a passage did we know where to go. There is a sawn off bit of post by the entrance which may have had a sign on it at some time? Anyway this passage takes you through an industrial area and into Par itself, before heading around and back towards beach. Just before Gribbin head there was a massive cliff fall which was signed before but it was a long way to backtrack when we got to this sign!? We managed to find a way over a fence and around some field edges to get around it but it wasn't that easy. Don't tell the farmer! My final comment on the path is that parts of the second half of this days walking is definitely 'strenuous' not 'moderate' unless I'm getting old! Fowey is a fantastic town with good pubs and restaurants and a fabulous harbour front. The Trevanion Guest House was nice enough. One complaint. We had the 'Twin' room on ground floor which has a walk through bathroom. This leads to a second small bedroom which has terrible sound insulation. You can hear talking and television like it was in the same room! good job it stopped at 11.45. Best parts. The views, Mevagissey and Fowey harbour. Recommended Overall a fantastic, scenic, challenging and fun hike. Well organised, as always, for peace of mind. Thanks, Simon and party.

Route: Place, Portscatho, Portloe to Mevagissey
Name: Marion and Dogs !
When: 05 May 2013

Encounter Walking Holidays logoHi Damon just to let you know that Gayle and I have just returned from our mini break with Barbara and John Leah. They were great no problems with the dogs and they took us to are different starting places. Really good decent local people with a wealth of local snippets which made it all very interesting . Absolutely lovely walking the coastal path up and down, then through wooded areas with wonderful spring flowers and then onto open sands where the dogs could relax and chase around , all different yet equally beautiful and quite stunning. The Ship Inn at Portloe did us very proud each night. The first two days were dry and the last day was damp off and on so not quite like last years glorious sunshine but good for walking.
We will be back next year for you to sort us with another mini break !
Hope you all have a good season
 

 

Route: Mevagissey to Looe
Name: Jane and Paula
When: 29 April 2013

Flag of the United KingdomThis was our first experience of the Cornish Coastal path and we are looking forward to doing more of it! Such beautiful scenery, the peacefulness was amazing and the hedgerows at this time of the year were stunning. Fowey to Polerro was challenging and then after a rest you have another 5 miles to your accommodation in Looe! I must say I have never been more pleased to see my bed, but such a wonderful feeling too! To start with we struggled a little with the signs but it got easier as we became used to them. Thank you Damon and team for such a well organised trip.

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Shelly Webb
When: 20 April 2013

Flag of the United KingdomWe had another excellent week walking. We have now walked the entire length of the Cornish portion of the South West Coastal Path, each year we have walked with Encounter Cornwall who have been excellent thoughout. There have never been any problems with any of the accomodation. We personally felt that stopping in Polperro rather than Looe would have been better in terms of distance and grade of walking. Good restaurants we found along the way this year were Salamanders in Mevagissey and Sam's in Fowey. If you're looking for a lunchtime stop in Gorran Haven there's a cafe in the back of the post office which is excellent; we found this by chance.

Route: South West Coast Path Mevagissey to Fowey
Name: Eva
When: 19 October 2012

Encounter Walking Holidays logoWe have had a fabulous time and all agreed that the walking, food and accommodation has been terrific. My friends haven't done B+B for years so it was a revelation for them! Honeycombe at Mevagissey was our favourite although having a bath here in King of Prussia was a huge bonus and the rooms are super. We took it slowly walking as the weather was so conducive to long breaks - and some stretches were indeed strenuous! A really successful trip all round - thank you so much Damon!

Route: South West Coast Path - Porthleven to Mevagissey
Name: Clive +5
When: 26 September 2012

Encounter Walking Holidays logoNO PROBLEMS, BUT COULD DO WITH MORE WAY MARK SIGNS, THOSE THAT WERE THERE WERE ON A STRAIGHT PATH WITH NO OTHER OPTION ANYWAY.LUGGAGE TRANSFERS SUPPLIED A GOOD SERVICE & YEO TAXIS WERE VERY GOOD, EVEN ARRIVING ON TIME.

A GOOD HOLIDAY WAS HAD BY ALL, EVEN THE WEATHER WAS OK, WITH ONLY LIGHT SHOWERS ON THE LAST DAY. WE SHALL BE BACK NEXT YEAR......

Route: Mevagsissey to Looe SW Coast Path
Name: Di (UK)
When: 17 September 2012

Flag of the United KingdomNo serious problems with route finding, but a few more markers would be useful. The best day was the stretch from Fowey to Polperro which was very peaceful with spectacular views, despite a number of gradients! (We were divided-one of us found the uphill section more demanding, the other the steep descents.)..... We walked slower but we frequently stopped to admire the views! We were never later than 5.00pm arriving at the B&Bs...... Wreckers at Charlestown and Smugglers Cott at West Looe were excellent, especially if you enjoy fish...... All accommodation very clean and comfortable. All our hosts were most welcoming.....Looe B&B  gave us tea and cake on arrival, Dave carried our backpacks up to our room and brought our suitcases down the following morning (unasked) and there were flasks of fresh milk in the fridge on the landing. In Mevagissey the accommodation  served breakfast in the conservatory with superb harbour and sea views. Just a shame the only twin-bedded room was not available for our stay...... Everything was very helpful; even the rail journey info back from Looe. As last year, it was helpful and reassuring to discuss concerns by phone prior to booking. Thank you. We are 2 reasonably fit OAPs (one 65 and one 71) and we found the walking manageable. We were extremely fortunate with the weather as I’m sure some of the going would be treacherous in or following heavy rain.

Route: Plymouth to Falmouth (reverse route) SW Coast Path
Name: Pauline and John
When: 01 September 2012

Encounter Walking Holidays logoYes the instruction from Perranuthnoe from the lane named Greenburrow led us down onto the beach via a ‘track on the right’. We clambered over some treacherous, wet, slippy, rocks for half a mile which was not very pleasant and quite dangerous...... Every subsequent day was lovely and the profusion of plant and wild life, especially seeing choughs made the whole experience very memorable...... All of our accommodation was enjoyable for all sorts of different reasons...... We walked the ‘high tide’ route around Gillan Creek. The farmer has done his best to eradicate the footpath across the field by growing tall maize crop across the path, the access to the footpath is very overgrown and one stile was practically impossible to climb because of stinging nettles and footpath signs were obscured.

Route: South West coast Path - Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Susan and Paul (Canada)
When: 02 July 2012

Flag of CanadaWe ran into fog the first day and had some difficulty finding the correct route through Nare Head . . .the path from Portloe to Mevagissey was slippery with mud - it was much nicer walking a hard packed trail and our best day was from Charlestown to Fowey. I really enjoyed the Lugger Hotel. I loved the atmosphere when we arrived in Portloe - very wet and windy with the waves crashing in that small harbor which reminded me of a scene from Daphne du Maurier's books. The staff were wonderful at the hotel and the breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed our stay in every place. Thank you...... Anne at Sea Breezes was very welcoming. The accommodation was first class and the food was very good. The Mevagissey B and B was very good...... Encounter Walking provided us with a well organized itinerary and excellent choices for accommodation so that we could concentrate on the walking and exploring. Our biggest challange was how to dry our wet boots and socks. Thanks again for your help and I have already recommended your company to friends who may be interested in walking in England.

Route: South West Coast Path (reverse) - Plymouth to Falmouth
Name: Janet and Andrew (UK)
When: 02 July 2012

Flag of the United KingdomNo problem with directions and route clearly marked throughout...if in doubt follow the acorns and keep the sea on the left...we were walking reverse! Looe to Fowey, superb scenery, lovely weather ditto Portloe to St. Mawes..... We generally walked faster, but the path from Fowey to Mevagissey was very muddy, grass overgrown in places and soaking wet. It was our long day (18 miles) and it took us 10 hours including 1.5 hours of stops...... Route through Par urban, but inevitable, I didn’t particularly like Charlestown, very touristy (fine weekend). Mawgans in Looe great fish restaurant, Sam’s on the beach Polkerris and Sam’s in Fowey were great, food at Ship Inn at Portlooe lovely. Loved Fowey, not just a tourist town with working docks, cruise ships etc...... We choose to stay in Inns rather than B & B’s, found that landlords were not always geared up for breakfasts before 8.30/9am, breakfasts in B&B better in terms of choice...... Walking in reverse was fine, no strong winds and loved finishing in St. Mawes rather than Plymouth. Baggage carriers were great. Inns tended not to be open in the afternoon, and while they left a number to ring, it took a while to raise one manager not helped by the fact that we were soaked! He made us a pot of tea when we arrived and dried all out belongings, supper and breakfast was lovely. Overall great holiday, thanks, and we missed the worst of the weather. Looking at Lands End and the Lizard next!

Route: South West Coast Path - Par to Looe
Name: Jenny and Teresa (UK)
When: 29 June 2012

Flag of the United KingdomAll the walking days were good but day 2 was strenuous stuff towards the end...just after we’d been thinking this isn’t strenuous!! Accommodation excellent. The information was accurate and useful. Have recommended you to lots of my friends! Thanks for a great walking break.

Route: South West Coast Path - Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Peter (Northamptonshire UK)
When: 22 June 2012

Flag of the United KingdomFirst day was the best it wasn’t raining or misty! All along the coast path from Falmouth to Crafthole certain stretches of the coast path were quite overgrown. I strongly recommend walkers take waterproof over trousers with them to prevent getting soaked by the wet grass...... All accommodation was to a good standard and the hosts were very welcoming...... As ever, everything was planned to perfection by Encounter Walking. My thanks to Damon

Route: South West Coast Path - Falmouth to Plymouth
Name: Maggie and Pat (Nottingham UK)
When: 18 June 2012

Flag of the United KingdomThere is an outdoor cafe at St. Anthony Head, closed on Saturdays. There is a cafe at the Whitsand Bay Holiday Park before Rame Head. Also decent loos. There are a lot of very overgrown (chest high) sections between Place and Charlstown. The accommodation was very good with firnedly hosts, helpful hosts, particularly when we arrived soaked......Everything worked smoothly. We went wrong at Rame Head in thick fog and only realised when we arrived at the chapel. . We had a good time despite the weather. Thanks for your attention to detail it makes all the difference. (we met some Swiss people booked with another walking company who had just been given a map and the addresses of their accommodation, it was so much better to have direction!) Thanks for everything.

Route: Mevagissey to Looe South West Coast Path
Name: Joan and Ian (Canada)
When: 10 June 2012

Flag of CanadaThe walk was terrific, everything went fine. Our weather was great, sunny much of the time and no rain. Today when we are not walking it’s raining and blowing so we are happy to be finished! Everything went fine. Directions were great and the places we stayed in were all excellent. Had dinner at Magawns where we stayed last night in Looe and it was delicious. It was a really enjoyable time, thank you for the great directions and the bookings.

Route: Falmouth to Fowey South West Coast Path
Name: Clive and Gillie (Lancashire UK)
When: 02 June 2012

Flag of the United KingdomBest days walk and why: Portscatho to Portloe. Dramatic coastline, saw peregrine falcon chicks and arrived in Portloe for Diamond Jubilee cream tea and setting the beacon alight!..... Great view from Nare Head at lunchtime. .General comments on the accommodation: Really enjoyed staying with Barbara and John Leach in Portloe. Very friendly also at Charlestown and Fowey......Would be useful to know if a bath was available as opposed to showers. A long soak after a wet day is glorious!..... As good as ever despite the weather. Now look forward to next year! Thanks for all your help.

Route: South West Coast Path - Falmouth to Brixham
Name: Jill and Wayne (Canada)
When: 21 May 2012

Flag of CanadaAll the sections were beautiful (except Par) Wayne liked the walk from Portloe to Mevagissey because it started out strenuous and ended with an easy section and the beautiful walk into Mevagissey. I like the walk to Plymouth from Portwrinkle for the mixture for the mixture of scenery: the wonderful village of Cawsand and the forested walk through Mount Edgcumbe...... The walk into Brixham was not my favourite because 11 miles of up and down without facilities (not one toilet!) was taxing for me...... Being able to eat wonderful meals at the Cricket Inn and Mawgans is definite bonus at already wonderful accommodation...... .The luggage transfer service people were also wonderful, despite thinking we had the heaviest small cases they had ever hefted! ..The hosts at the places I mentined were really good were all exceptional......Arriving at Beesands just before the rain started for a late lunch, with our beautiful room waiting for us was the most wonderful feeling ever! And with our great meal, it just got better...... The trail from Plymouth was well worth it and, in some ways, we had some of the most memorable scenery that we had seen on the entire coastal path. Noss Mayo was wonderful, in spite of us getting lost. The ferry driver there was lots of fun and from what we had heard from other walkers, he was reliable........I would not have missed Salcombe:- the beaches there were absolutely beautiful; we loved Beesands and the area around there:- Torcross is stunning. As for Dartmouth:- what a jewel it is! We were in these places during the Jubilee celebrations so they were busier than usual. Dartmouth would be a very interesting spot for people interested in maritime history. (or people wanting to buy art!) We met some wonderful people around different breakfast tables......I honestly can not imagine how I would have managed this walk without your information. The arrangements would have been very daunting

Route: South West Coast Path - Coverack to Plymouth
Name: David (Hertfordshire, UK)
When: 17 May 2012

Flag of the United KingdomAll good days but finishing off through the park before the Plymouth ferry was very relaxing......The first ferry from Fal on a Sunday is 10.15 so walking from Place started at 11.00. I found no problem but less experienced walkers might struggle (or at least be anxious)......Par to Polperro felt more than 13 miles.......

Route: South West Coast Path - Marazion to Falmouth
Name: Shauna and John (Australia)
When: 14 May 2012

Australian FlagThe route was well signed and easy to follow.......Best day was Marazion to Porthleven. Most varied scenery and a brilliantly sunny day plus day 1 of walk so very exciting- walking times were almost spot on...... Best restaurant was Kota at Porthleven....... Host at theB & B in Mawnan Smith and  at Mullion were really lovely......Couldn’t have been organised better if we had done it face to face instead of half way around the world via email!......We had such a great time that we hope to be back to do another section within the next year or two! Thank you Damon for all your consideration, expertise and interpretation of our needs.

Route: Falmouth to Plymouth SW Coast Path
Name: Susan + 3
When: 05 May 2012

Flag of the United States of AmericaFalmouth to Portloe - found the last section confusing, went wrong way and wasted time, so arrived late......Portwrinkle to Plymouth was less strenuous, beautiful walk, beautiful weather...but long......If in any doubt, always keep close to the coastal path. Make sure follow the yellow acorns, not the yellow markers......Accommodation very good. Grove Hotel, Falmouth-very good. , Portloe B&B -very good. Looe B&B-very good. Seabreezes, Plymouth-excellent hostess, accommodation, food and location...... Found Encounter excellent, including personal emails to all parties, and special financial arrangements for American guests...... Had a wonderful and memorable time. Excellent personal service. Will use again. Will recommend to others, Luggage was also excellent. Will put places to stay in Mevagissey, Looe and Plymouth on Trip Advisor.

Route: South West Coast Path - Looe to Charlestown
Name: Nicola, Tom and Lisa (London)
When: 05 April 2012

Flag of the United KingdomWe had such a great time and really enjoyed ourselves.  Thank you so much for all your help. I have recommended you to all of my colleagues......Second day- lovely undulating walk with lovely scenery......The walk up to Polkerris was lovely......We took our time and ambled so the timing was spot on......Book at Sam’s on the beach in Polkerris in advance. It is super busy and tables are hard to get......All of the accommodation provided fab breakfasts and we all put on weight despite all the walking......The organisation was brilliant and I am definitely going to use you again.

 

 

Route: South West Coast Path - Fowey to Portloe
Name: Lisa and Sally
When: 25 March 2012

The final day to Portloe was very good. Quite hilly......The pub at Portloe-forgotten the name was good......Accommodation all seemed perfectly above board. The B and B in Mevagissey is up a very steep slope- no prob for us but might for some walkers.