Encounter Walking


Walking Feedback and Reviews -

Penzance to Falmouth - Cornwall Coast Path

Read Reviews

Walk Reviews and Customer Feedback

Route: Lizard Marazion to Falmouth
Name: I & R - Victoria
When: 21 September 2016

Australian FlagThe walk was magnificent with only two Cornish days of mizzle and four of glorious sunshine - I got a bit burnt the first day! Dropping car at Penzance and walking to Marazion was a great gentle start and the Marazion accomm was very nice with views of the bay.  We visited the Mount before the tide came in and enjoyed a great meal at the Kings Arms where I was introduced to rum & shrub.  I'd never heard of it before - possibly the smallest pub dining room ever - they didn't charge for the shrub apparently because our meals had taken so long to arrive.  We're not in a hurry!

Have to say the next day was a hard one for me. All those stiles and scrambly bits of path. But we got to Praa Sands feeling pretty great and had a ploughman's before hitting the final 7kms (I can't think in miles, sorry) and it knocked me about a bit.  Clearly 17 kms for me needs to be a little less rugged! Utterly due to my overestimating my ageing bones. 

The Old Vicarage in Mullion was beautiful with a very informative landlady. The Old Inn is fantastic with it's community library in the dining room - 'The pub's the hub' as it says. We took the bus from there to Lizard for a look around before walking to Cadgwith. The new owners (2012) it seems had an idea of closing over winter but the locals told them they had a civic duty to stay open for them and now they do. I love that kind of good sense in the Cornish. The barman was quite indignant that someone had written on Tripadvisor that the place has "good food, nice rooms - pity it's run by emmetts!"

Gallen Treath guest house is run by an unlikely looking sort of gentle bikie bloke and his wife. They were really helpful and did a full load of muddy, sweaty washing for us and refused payment, just asked for a donation to the RNLI collection tin. Another lovely stop.

Gold Martin B&B was a great finishing spot - they picked us up from the pub as we were absolutely saturated (by the persistent 'mizzle'!) and then drove us to Mawnan churchyard to resume the next morning after I'd visited my friend's grave there. Their breakfast offering was also welcome after a week of full Englishes - croissants with melted Brie and ham and an egg on top.  They told us that Encounter Walking is far and away the best company to deal with, replying promptly to emails, always keeping them informed of what they need to know and paying promptly.  I thought that was good for you to know. (And it echoes our own experience). I think being Cornwall-based really helps.

So Damon - thank you for a great trip. We passed your name onto a couple of different people we met who are interested in planning a coastal walk and also the saint's way from North Cornwall to the Mount - not sure if you do that one?

 

Route: Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Mike - Sheffield
When: 21 September 2016

UK FlagHi everyone, Firstly, all the arrangements were fine and well organised. The accommodation was in both Guest Houses and pubs, and in all cases they were friendly and expecting me at the appropriate times. Breakfasts were always well cooked and with a choice of cereals and fruit. The walking was fantastic and exhilarating.

The maps and guidebooks were invaluable, although I should have read the notes more carefully which described Day 1 as moderate to strenuous, and the last part was certainly strenuous. I was unable to locate the path at one point after the quarry at Godfrey Cove. It was raining hard and with no-one else in sight and no mobile signal, had to retrace my steps and detour to St. Keverne. I later learned from other walkers the path was not well marked and went through very marshy and boggy land which had become saturated due to the rain. Otherwise the maps and instructions were accurate in all respects.

Also, whilst walking alone, it was good to see a number of other walkers on various occasions who were following the same route. Not sure if these other groups were with Encounter, but they were staying at the same accommodation by and large. Perhaps Encounter could advise walkers if other groups were following the same route at the same time. Overall a very enjoyable holiday with magnificent views around the coast, interspersed with wonderful Cornish villages and pubs of real character. Harder walking than anticipated, but well worth the effort. Mike from Sheffield

 

Route: The Lizard Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Chris - London
When: 17 September 2016

UK FlagHi, We had a great time. Thanks. Everything went smoothly.

First thanks to you. We booked late and I appreciate that you still went ahead and tried to book things for us. I also appreciated the facility to have a  choice and upgrade before we booked on individual night stops.

The accommodation was generally very high standard. We've done part of the coastal path before and think the accommodation this time was much better than what we have encountered before. I would single out three where it was exceptional. Fernleigh at Coverack. The host was extremely welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. She even checked and gave us advice about the upcoming ferry service on our walk (which was disrupted by an especially low tide that day). Very thoughtful. The views were great from the house and we had the run of several rooms at our disposal to relax in.  Also extremely good was our first night's accommodation in Penzance (Treventan) which offered delicious breakfast. And the Lerryn at Falmouth - wonderful seaview room with balcony.

Thanks again

 

Route: Penzance to Plymouth
Name: Anita
When: 05 September 2016

Swiss FlagDear Damon and Team Thank you for the perfect organisation of the walk! I had a wonderful time in Cornwall with most of the time sunny and warm weather. The B&B's and Inns I stayed were all very nice and I felt like coming home. There was everywhere a very warm welcome. The luggage transfer was really magical and my suitcase was always in my room when I arrived! I enjoyed all the walking, the landscape, the scenery, the weather, and the spirit of Cornwall. I'll be back again!

Route: Penzance to Falmouth SW Coast Path
Name: Herbert + Erika
When: 07 August 2016

German FlagWe enjoyed each of the 5 hiking days and the extra days in Penzance and Falmouth too. We had a little drizzle one morning, the rest was sunshine all day long. Thank you Damon and Ellie for perfectly meeting our wishes and answering all our questions.

Route: St. Ives to Lizard
Name: Nele and Peer
When: 11 July 2016

German FlagWe’ve had a most enjoyable walk from St. Ives to Lizard. Great thanks to all of the Encounter-staff – their bookings (B&Bs, luggage transfer) and recommendations (break day, route) fit perfectly! The daily distances matched our fitness ideally – how did you know? Amazing scenery, stunning views, the trail just beautiful, thus in parts demanding – and the drop of clotted cream on top of it was the perfect weather: not too hot, but sunny all day long. So we recommend: book via encounter, bring walking boots and sufficient sunscreen, and enjoy perfect walking holidays! Communication with Encounter was very helpful – quick, very personal and always accurate. Thank you for this great walking experience! Nele & Peer

Route: Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Daniel Gygi and Rita Zenhäusern, Basel, Switzerland
When: 10 July 2016

Flag of the NetherlandsLike last year we enjoyed a perfect organization, beautiful sceneries and nice accomodation. Weather was fine and we had no difficulties finding the path. With two of our rooms we were not so lucky, because they were located next to noisy kitchen ventilators. This was at the Harbour Inn in Portleven and at the Paris Hotel in Coverack. At least they were switched off after midnight. Otherwise it was just brilliant and we will come again.

Route: porthcurno to falmouth
Name: Susanne Moon & Bob Kendrick
When: 09 July 2016

UK FlagHi, we would like to say thanks for all your help in making our walk so enjoyable and stress free. Everything went as planned with no problems of any kind. The b & b's were all great with really friendly hosts and great breakfasts - we would definitely recommend all of the b&b's for future visits. We have carried our own bags on past occasions but this time we had our bags moved on each day and this helped in making our week's walking a very pleasurable experience. Once again many thanks and we look forward to booking with you again soon for the next stage of the South West coast path!!

Route: Marazion to Fowey
Name: G & A - AUSTRIA
When: 16 June 2016

Austrian FlagJust a quick note that we arrived safely in Fowey. Everything worked perfectly well, apart from the weather, it was quite wet at times. Nevertheless, we had a great time and lots of fun. Thanks for everything.
 

Route: Lands end to polperro
Name: Pete haynes
When: 07 June 2016

Flag of the United KingdomA massive thankyou to Encounter walking! Having not done anything like this before it was made easy and went without a hitch. The weather was good most of the time but you dont walk the Cornish coast for the weather! Its a bonus if the sun shines.the scenery was stunning, the people, the places all very freindly and excellent full Cornish every day to get me on my way, averaged 15 miles a day and that was enough! The guide book and map were a great help, you can miss so much if you just march on by, once again thanks to the guys at Encounter I will be organising another trip for 2017.

Route: St Ives to Lizard
Name: Birgit, Christiane, Ria, Simone
When: 05 June 2016

Flag of GermanyThank you Damon for your the organizing. It was perfect. We had a great walk! Wunderfull views, superb landscape, lovely flowers and birds... The transport of luggage was going smoothly. All in all the accomodations were pleasant apart from the one in Penzance which was not of the same standard.

Route: Saints Way and Falmouth to Marazion
Name: Kristina and Borje Illerstrom
When: 04 June 2016

Flag of SwedenIn Swedish: Fantastiska vandringar i Cornwall, något för alla som ledsnat på att bära tunga ryggsäckar, sova i tält och äta frystorkad mat. Här bor man på jättefina B & B, oftast mycket bättre än hotell, får superb frukost, förfriskning på vägen och god middag på kvällen. Sträckan vi gick i år var från Padstow till Fowey (The Saints Way), därefter buss och tåg till Falmouth och från Falmouth vandrade vi The Coastal Path till Marazion. Vackert scenery var det i stort sett hela tiden - engelskt landskap med kullar och åkerlappar, mysiga små vägar som slingrade sig fram som gröna tunnlar genom landskapet osv. Byarna är små, ofta väldigt gamla med vackra stenhus. Pubarna, där man ibland övernattar, kan vara så gamla som flera hundra år, delar byggda kanske redan på 1200-talet. Gott öl och ale och maten är god, mycket bättre än sitt rykte. Och så är det dessa engelsmän! Trevliga, vänliga och hjälpsamma! Synd bara att det är så få svenskar som hittat till denna vrå av världen - det är det ultimata vandringsmålet. Vandringen efter The Coastal Path går i stort sett hela tiden längs med havet - Atlanten. Ibland högt uppe på klipporna med bara en meter till klippkanten med allt från några meter till några hundra meter ovanför den klippiga stranden! Häftigt! Det är mycket upp och ner men inte värre än att man klarar av det. På de brantaste ställen finns för det mesta enkla trappsteg. Stavar är ett bra hjälpmedel. Stora chanser att se tretåig mås, stormfågel, skarvar, sälar och har man tur kan man också få syn på alpkråka som är väldigt sällsynt. Samma gäller basking shark, en jätte som äter plankon, delfiner osv. Encounter Walking Holidays hjälper till med allt som behövs men gå får man göra själv. De bokar B & B, kör bagaget mellan övernattningsställen, föreslår vandringsetapper, hjälper till med tåg- och busstider, telefonnr till taxi, ja allt som man har behov av. Ett otroligt trevligt och hjälpsamt företag! Vi är supernöjda och har anlitat dem 5 gånger de senaste åren. Stort tack till Damon och hans vänner!

Route: Lizard Trail - Marazion to Falmouth
Name: Deborah + 2 - California
When: 25 May 2016

USA FlagFirst and foremost we all thank you for the wonderful arrangements and care you gave us on planning our trip which was FABULOUS.  We had incomparable weather, only 10 minutes of rain the entire time and most of the days were incredibly gorgeous with just a windy day early on. Wildflowers were beyond anything we ever expected and the ocean surprised us, we never expected the water to be so beautifully blue and clear.  

And now for a couple of points that could be helpful for other hikers:  Those two photos above were taken in Coverack, about two miles from town.  Unfortunately, on the other end coming from Cadgwith the sign which tells you to take the Inland route for easier going is NOT there and we stuck to the Coast and it was indeed challenging to say the least.  Someone needs to get this same sign up on BOTH ends so folks could make the choice of the easier route and maybe be advised its a darn good idea to take it. 

We are really glad we went to the Eden Project, a special place and well worth the visit.  The train was a lovely opportunity to see more of the countryside as well.  I am going to send another email with a few more photos you might enjoy.  Your company is just exemplary and we are so grateful to have found you.  With warm regards   Deborah

Route: Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Ivan Waterfall
When: 12 May 2016

Flag of the United KingdomHi, Sorry I can't be of anymore help than this, but I had 5 days of walking from Penzance to Falmouth. I found that your planned holiday for me was very easy to follow and all the hotels were great. Some of the walk for me was sometimes a bit hard going but that was only what I had expected as I am 73. I found the detours of which you told me about all easy to follow. I am sure that you will be hearing from me again t give me a route to follow from Falmouth. I have now walked from Padstow to Falmouth. Thanks for all your help. Ivan

Route: Falmouth to Pendeen (reverse direction)
Name: J & S - Scotland
When: 17 April 2016

Flag of ScotlandWe had a really great trip and much enjoyed seeing Cornwall and the superb coastline with the rocky bays and the spring flowers en route, and had absolutely no problems.  We covered 84 miles in all, and interestingly our total elevation was just over 5500 metres, so there was quite a bit of climbing up and down on each day.  We averaged about 2 mph moving which is fairly slow by most standards, but we do have 148 years between us!  We were also very fortunate with the weather, some high winds midweek but virtually no rain at all.

Firstly, many thanks indeed for all your excellent organisation and the very detailed itinerary with maps which made everything so easy and completely stress free.  Your planning and attention to detail were exemplary, and you provide a first class service.  A few comments follow:

The Route.  This was easy to follow being well marked and pretty obvious. Just occasionally there were minor variations, but nothing that use of a GPS and map could not solve.  We were particularly impressed by the complete lack of litter which other parts of the country including up here could do well to follow.  The various cafes you recommended en route were very pleasant and made very good pit and fuel stops.

Accommodation.  All the places you found for us were very satisfactory.  Our favourite was the Cadgewith Cove Inn which was very high standard indeed, but the good quality inns where we could eat in the evenings were just right for us.  The Lerrin Hotel in Falmouth made an excellent start and finish point and we were able to park the car on the street outside the hotel for the week with no problem. 

Luggage Transfers.    Worked perfectly.

Dog.  He thoroughly enjoyed the trip with us and was made very welcome by everyone.  He is pretty well trained and very phlegmatic and biddable, but anyone taking a dog on the path should be aware that there are dangers for a less well trained and controlled dog, and that the larger beaches forbid dogs from 1 May to 30 September.

Summary.  As said, your organisation and attention to detail was faultless and made our trip completely stress free and therefore a thoroughly enjoyable holiday for both of us.   We loved our time in Cornwall - a beautiful place and a great contrast to our more rugged mountain territory here in Scotland - and we very much look forward to coming back.

Route: Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Helena & Geoff
When: 19 September 2015

Flag of the United KingdomThanks to Damon and the team for another really enjoyable, well organised holiday (our third with Encounter). Damon went out of his way to tailor the itinerary to our preferred overnight stops and gave us some excellent options for upgrading the accommodation. Baggage transfers worked very smoothly and the accommodation was generally very good. We particularly enjoyed the Polurrian Hotel, the Five Pilchards at Porthallow and Gold Martin B&B at Mawnan Smith. Most enjoyable evening meals of the week were at the Five Pilchards (great steak) and Giuseppe’s in Mawnan Smith (fantastic turbot). We would also recommend the Brew House at Porthleven for great coffee, friendly staff and views of the harbour (the cakes looked great too!). The weather was rather mixed at the beginning of the holiday with intermittent heavy rain and strong winds but steadily improved as the week went on and we had lots of sunshine and fantastic views. Some sections of the path were extremely muddy – especially around Coverack. We were amused to be stopped on the coast path near Gunwalloe Cove while a scene for Poldark 2 was being filmed. The ferries at both Gillan Creek and the Helford River worked perfectly for us and added interest towards the end of the week. Thanks again Damon and we hope to be back walking with Encounter in the near future.

Route: Pencance - Falmouth
Name: Ernst Schaffner
When: 18 September 2015

Flag of GermanyIt was really great, the scenery extremely impressing, and well, we were also more than lucky with the weather, only half a day some showers, otherwise pure sunshine with some white clouds. Organisation was perfect, in all guest houses, inns and hotels we were always expected and warmly welcomed. The luggage was always at the places where it should be. Quality of accomodation was fine in general, but two inns (the Harbour Inn in Porthleven and the Old Inn in Mullion) should spend some money in the refurbishment of their lodging, particularly in the bath rooms. Breakfast was in general fine, reaching from the standard cooked breakfast (and toast and marmelade and cereals) to more interesting variations around smoked salmon. The coastpath was so fairly wayposted that one could not really get lost (together with the Trailblazer Cornwall Coast Path Book and the AZ Adventure South West Coast Path Map), with the exception from Coverack to Porthallow, where the former official route was abandoned, the path now going inland, with no sign post of this change (at least we did not find it), fortunately we met some locals knowing the place. Not much more to say - it was just great (I'm not sure if I would come to the same conclusion if we would have had one week of rainy weather, but this may not happen in Cornwall ?)

Route: Penzance - Falmouth
Name: Essink Karel
When: 10 September 2015

Flag of the NetherlandsWe enjoyed the walk along the SW Coast Path. The accomodations were very pleasant, providing good food and drinks. We included a walk around Loo Lake, which provided a pleasant diversion from the coastal landscapes. Parts of the path we (being 65+ and 70+)found rather strenuous. We were very lucky with the weather. The first days, walking in our T-shirts. The daily weatherforecast promised more rain than we actually experienced. We had only one day of walking with our raingear on; and yet the rain was intermittant, not continuous. Thank you for the well organized vacation.

Route: Newquay - Plymouth
Name: Joachim and Andi
When: 10 August 2015

Flag of GermanyFor way: Like all long-distance footpaths, the label is partly good and partly bad. Especially bad is the mark of Coverack by Porthallow. To evaluate the Section it would be good if the altitude would indicated. If the Section has a lot of steps, this information would also be good. To Orgarnisation: the Orgarnisation was excellent. The Lodging is always close on the way. The description of the way the property very well. the Lodging: -Sea View House- the room is very small and not very clean. There is no wardrobe. We had to take off your shoes, although they were not wet or dirty. -House of Props- the arrival to 4 clock or after 6 clock is bad for walking. The furniture of the room was a bit uneven. The food and the breakfast was very good. -Nantarrow farm- the information that the Farmer guests for a small fee drives to the pub and pick up again would be good. We noticed that people are very friendly in Cornwall. "Encounterwalking" we would recommend it to anyone with a good conscience.

Route: Marazion to Falmouth - The Lizard
Name: Wolfgang
When: 25 July 2015

Flag of Germanyyesterday we came back from our walking week on the South West Coast Path between Marazion and Falmouth. I just wanted to let you know that everything went well and we very much appreciate the perfect organization of the trip.

We were very lucky with the weather: Only one hour of rain, a day of heavy winds and other than that lots and lots of sunshine. We have enjoyed all the accommodations with wonderful hospitality everywhere, very nice people, excellent breakfast, good food and even better beer so what else could we have wished for. 

The luggage transfer worked out simply perfect with no hick up at all. 

And since we had received very good information from you we never got lost.

So all in all it was a perfect trip. I promise we will tell lots of people about it and we we will certainly recommend Encounter Walking Holidays as the partner to choose. And I hope we will do it again ourselves in the near future.

Thank you very much for your support.

Route: Marazion to Falmouth: Coastal path
Name: Robert and Lisbeth
When: 19 July 2015

Flag of BelgiumAn interesting walk in sunshine and rain. Waking up in a misty Porthleven was a kind of surprise after the sunny previous day. No view of St Michaels mount and even the view of the sea was blurred but everything cleared after visiting St Winwaloe church. Kynance Cove and Lizard point would have been more enjoyable with fewer 'day tourists'. Cadgwith harbour was very attractive. Heavy rain and wind held us away from the coast between Porthallow and Helston. Instead we explored alternative paths inland and reached the Helston ferry after a nice lunch in Manaccan. A day off at Mawnan Smith with a visit of Trebah Gardens was a splendid idea, so was the extra day in Falmouth with Pendennis castle and the Maritime Museum.

All accomodations were excellent, with often remarkably large rooms. We very much liked the more personal touch of "Gold Martin" in Mawnan Smith. All walks had their strenuous parts, especially where staircases with huge steps were inserted... and for us, as walkers of a certain age who also take time to enjoy the beautifull vegetation, the longer walks such as Cadgwith-Porthallow were somewhat exhausting. Signposting could be improved a lot, certainly in the neighbourhood of beaches. Of course, as a coastal path is supposed to stick to the shore, walking it is most times not really difficult and we were provided with excellent trail documentation: The OS map in book-version was extremely handy. We preferred this to the trailblazer which, however, was informative for smaller (but necessary) details such as the location of toilets... Thank you for this much enjoyed walking trip, and also for the pleasantly efficient and well timed way the foregoing communication was handled.

Route: St Ives to Falmouth and Mevagissey / Fowey walking
Name: H & E - Berlin
When: 17 July 2015

Flag of Germanythanks for the well done preparations of our walking holiday in Cornwall. Basically we had a very pleasing time and the two days rain were really no hindrance having a very good time in this lovely place. The daily transport of our suitcases and the arrangement and length of our tours were nearly perfect. For even making your service better for the forthcoming people we'd like to give a few tipps or suggestions, which might be helpful:

- We have learned, that our plan to  take rests for two days each at the end of our stay (Mevagissey and Fowey) was not necessary. We should have gone on, which we really did by taking tours round the town. We should have lengthened our way on the coastal path.

- the B & B's in Penzance, Coverack and - most of all - Mevagissey were very goot, the others were ok exept the night and breakfast in the Harbour Inn in Porthleven.

- Concerning the route: The ferrie from Mevagissey to Fowey didn't drive because of the bad weather. The tour by bus was ok, but as an alternative it would have been nice to take a walk or - if too long for a daytrip - a combined suggest for a walk and bus tour.

- In parts the south coast path, as far as we have gone it, was not at all places clearly signed. Definitely on the days with bad weather the orientation was sometimes difficult and the combination of coastal-path signs and the local round paths had been desorientating, so that we missed our way for two times.

- Looking back we were both sorry, that we didn't combine trips on coast with ways through the heartland.

But these suggestions are not thought to really criticize the stay in Cornwall. It's a really nice place, we really enjoyed it, you did really good work and we are very confident, it was not our last time to come to "Kernow".

Thanks for everything you have done for us up to now,

Route: St. Ives to Falmouth
Name: Denni & Nan
When: 08 July 2015

Flag of the United States of AmericaWe had a wonderful hike. The “relaxed” pace was just right for us and it left us with time to visit a number of fascinating attractions in the afternoons after we had reached our destinations. The uphill work really wasn’t too bad, and the twelve or thirteen mile longest days weren’t too hard. We did take the bus from Mousehole to Penzance but walked the three miles on to Marazion. The mid July weather was pretty good: we had three days of sun and several half days too. We saw plenty of mist, but were really rained on only one day.

Must say we didn’t run into any other Americans in eleven days of walking! Our favorite sections of the walk were St. Ives to Zennor, Zennor to Pendeen, Prussia and Bessie’s Cove are, the Loe Bar and especially Gillan’s creek where, in mid July, we had no trouble in hailing the “ferry” to St Anthony’s at high tide. Cadgwith was the prettiest village. We learned a lot about Cornwall at the following stops, and we strongly advise those unfamiliar with the area to take time for a visit: Wayside Museum in Zennor; Geever Mine in Pendeen; Telegraph Museum in Porthcurno; St. Michael’s Mount in Marazion and the Maritime Museum in Falmouth.

In general all the accommodations were fine, but several stand out. Best B&B, hands down: St. Michaels B&B, Marazion, felt more like a boutique hotel; the caveat being that they generally accept only two night stays, which worked well for us because we were taking a rest day there. We appreciated the route planning that got us there. Best meal, hands down: Ben’s Cornish Kitchen, Marazion. Exceptional food, but you must book ahead and they are closed two days a week. Other good or fun meals at Logan Rock Inn, Treen, near Porthcurno, Kota In Porthleven; Kynance Café, Kynance Cove; Cove Restaurant, Maenporth. We also stayed at some really nice places that had only a few rooms (Tinner’s Arms in Zennor) and think that we were able to stay only because we booked early (last October). Finding our way was pretty easy and the directions along with the maps and Trailblazer guide meant we never had any trouble. For what it’s worth the boulders on the beach at St. Loy were not any trouble at all (in dry weather). All in all a terrific walk.

Route: Lizard to Penzance
Name: Jenny Simpson
When: 20 June 2015

Flag of the United KingdomThe walk went really well. The fog at The Lizard was a bit eerie.wWe enjoyed the track and all the accommodation places were really welcoming and friendly. Great bird life and scenery.

Route: penzance to par
Name: maggie and peter schofield
When: 14 June 2015

Flag of the United KingdomAll arrangements went well. Using map and book the path was quite easy to find!. Plenty of good coffee, cream teas and pasties en route! Accommodation all great even the sun shone! St. Michaels Mount, Lizard light house and Glenduggan Gardens all worthy of visiting.

Route: Mousehole to Falmouth
Name: Sue & Peter Hartmann
When: 13 June 2015

Flag of GermanyThis was the second time we had booked with Encounter and again everything was perfectly well organised. We were pleased with all the varied types of B&Bs and can especially recommend good food in The Kings Arms in Marazion (reservation beforehand necessary) and The Mounts Bay Inn in Mullion. We took the bridal path to reach Mullion from the coastal path, which was easy walking and a pleasant way. The next day when walking from Mullion to The Lizard make sure you allow enough time to have a Cornish cream tea at Kynance Cove, a beautiful spot. The walk from Coverack to Mawnan Smith is 13 miles. We shortened this 2-3 miles by taking the bus from Coverack (departs 9.45am) to St.Keverne, a 7min bus ride. From there we took the public footpath through the church graveyard along a lovely river valley to Trendwith Mill. Trenance is only a few minutes walk up the road where we joined the coastal path and walked on to Porthhallow.

Sometimes the footpaths make a nice change to the coastal path. This is all clearly marked on OS map. When we reached Gillan Creek the tide was going out so we were able to wade through shallow water - watch out for the crabs! When we arrived at Helford Passage it was still low tide, but this is no problem as we had a welcomed rest and drink in the beer garden at the Shipwright Arms. If you are staying at Gold Martin it's nice to walk from Porth Saxon to Mawnan Smith along the Woodland Trail. This is not strenuous at all. What made this a fantastic holiday was the weather - 8 days sunshine and pleasant temperatures for walking. Thanks Damon for arranging everything and we hope to be walking again with you.

Route: falmouth-lizard point
Name: hilde morris
When: 01 June 2015

Flag of the United Kingdoma terrific walk, everything planned by Encounterwalking was well thought out and went smoothly. lots of useful info: alternative routes/taxi numbers/places to eat etc. and smashing accommodation! not knowing the area I was a little apprehensive about the walk and I particularly appreciated all the helpful, supportive emails during the planning stages. due to circumstances out of our control we finalised our booking rather late in the day but Encounter pulled out all the stops and managed to find places for us to stay. Thank you!!

Route: st ives to lizard point
Name: charlotte
When: 22 May 2015

Flag of the United States of Americathis was a spectacular walk! I can't say enough wonderful things about the scenery-around every peninsula was another amazing view. I don't know if it's typical for late May-early June but the wildflowers all seemed to be in bloom at the same time. I know count bluebells as my favorite flower. I consider myself to be a moderately fit person so the 6-8 mile average walk was perfect (I took a LOT of pictures!). The only long day was Porthcurno to Marazion but I discovered that the bus service was perfect for cutting out the "boring" beach walk around Mounts Bay. For all trip planning I credit "Encounter Walking" for perfect advice and patient responses to my random questions from this non-Brit about rail and bus service. Accommodations were likewise spot on. I am already plotting how to return to Cornwall asap and I will definitely be working with "Encounter" again. This was the best vacation I ever had. Thanks, Damon, for helping to make it a reality.

Route: Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Peggy and Walter
When: 15 May 2015

Flag of CanadaWe are now in London and will be heading home tomorrow. We had a great week and did not have to give in to the weather (except for an hours delay in starting one day while we waited for the rain to stop). We practically got blown off our feet as we walked from Polurrian Bay to Lizard Point but it was quite  exhiliarating! The flowers were amazing all the way. 

Our accommodarion was excellent all the way and the baggage handling was perfect. We used both the OS map and the guide book all the time as well as your notes so we had no problems with the trail. We managed to catch the ferry across Gillan Creek but we just missed the one at Helford and had to wait 2 1/2 hours for the tide to turn. The forced rest was actually a good break that we enjoyed in the end. Oh yes, the trail to go around Gillan Creek was unclear. We thought we would walk around but ended up on the wrong road, asked directions, got a bit lost but then ended up under the calling board for the ferry, which came and got us right away!

Thanks for everything. We will not hesitate to recommend Encounter Walking to others.

Route: Penzance to Falmouth - Lizard Trail
Name: DL - The Netherlands
When: 14 May 2015

Flag of the NetherlandsI had a wonderful holiday. Although the weather forecast often was far from good, on several days it turned out okay. I even went home with a tan.The hotels and B&B’s were all to my liking. Two very nice B&B’s were The Caerthillian Guesthouse in Coverack and Goldmartin in Mawnan Smith. The luggage transfer service was excellent. Every time I reached one of my sleeping accommodations, my suitcase had already arrived. 

The travel documentation I received from you (I mean the map and the Trailblazer’s guide) was excellent. But I hardly used them, because I navigated with my iPhone. I found gpx-files of all my walks on the Wandermap site I used an iPhone app called Topo GPS (about GBP 3 (!)), but I’m not sure that app is available in the United Kingdom. Without any doubt there are British equivalents though. The advantage of navigation is threefold: 

a) you know exactly where you are (navigation via satellites also works when your mobile phone is out of reach) and notice very quickly when you have taken a wrong turning

b) you know exactly how many more miles you have to walk and can decide to speed up if you are progressing too slow.

c) on one of my walking days there were gusts of wind of about 60 miles per hour. Under those circumstance holding a phone is easier than holding a map or a guide. 

I bought expensive new walking shoes (A/B) for my holiday. However, the soles of those shoes were probably too thin for the terrain, because the soles of my feet got quite painful during the last two days. Maybe it is a good thing to advise people to use shoes with a thick sole that fit the walking conditions. Hopefully some people in the area could give you advice about what kind of shoes one should use for particular walks. I could sometimes feel the stones and the rocks, although the soles of my shoes appear quite thick.

I was able to cross Gillian Creek via the stepping stones, so this is again possible.

The contact with you, as a representative of EWH, was both friendly and professional. That is the ideal combination. I thought the quotation was very clear and I appreciated the links to the places where I stayed. Your website is very good as well.

Route: St Ives to Falmouth
Name: Gareth
When: 13 May 2015

Flag of CanadaWe had a great walk. The weather was perfect and all the accommodation and luggage transfer were great. Special mention to Warwick House and the Trelawne Hotel. Both were superb! Anyway thanks for the great job on all the accommodation.

The transfers that you arranged around St Just worked out well. Of course we forgot that cell phone coverage is spotty in the valleys  but we found a pub that had a pay phone. ( we had arrived earlier than planned ). Very entertaining driver! We had no problems on the walk itself . No sign of a ferry at the Helford River but a pleasant walk around. ( its entirely possible that this is related to the time of year ).We’ll be back again next year to do another segment. Thanks again for all your help. You make it all work so well.

Route: Falmouth to Looe
Name: Judy
When: 17 August 2014

Flag of AustraliaFlag of the United States of AmericaWe are back from our overseas holiday and we want to thank you for helping us organise the walk which truly was the walking highlight of our holiday. For we five walkers, two Americans and three aussies, the walk was  just about perfect. The scenery was absolutely wonderful, the weather perfect, and the connections between places via transport were excellent. The taxi driver from Falmouth was an absolute delight…and gave us lots of helpful local info.

Overall the accommodation was great…authentic, great customer service from some truly wonderful hosts, and great locations. As older travellers, we were portably looking for a little more comfort and space re bathrooms and room size, but we’d ask for that next time. A couple of highlights…Warwick House room was great, ocean view, and sensational breakfast. Hard to find in a car though. Harbour Inn was a bit run down, frankly, but the staff were nice enough. We loved the host at Caerthillian guest House, but the rooms were small, and a non en suite took the edge off our enjoyment. Great spot, though, and great local pubs. Gold martin B and B was so lovely and quaint, and another super breakfast, but again, sharing a bathroom was a bit tedious for us oldies. Loved clare’s botanical art…and great local pub. Lerryn Hotel….great rooms…and the new owner, Lyn, was absolutely wonderful to us. Great personalised customer service. A gem!

Honey combe House was great…food lovely, view sensational, but the toilet bathroom was simply too small. What a pity. Million dollar views. TGallants was fine too, but the owners weren’t super helpful or friendly.

Galleon Inn was great…nice big room and right in the middle of everything. We asked for an early breakfast and they were so obliging. Schooner Point was frankly hard to get too with heavy bags, and not ideal. But the owners were simply delightful, gave us so much help with planning, and lovely cakes and breaky that we forgave them the location.

Some thoughts on the walk. We managed the distances pretty well, but on reflection, we had underestimated the toll of the ups and downs, and next time would go for 10 mile days, not twelve.

My goodness, though, the scenery was so worth all that climbing.

Damon, we really appreciated the outstanding service you gave us as a group, and me in particular. All your advice was wonderful, and we’d love to do another section of the walk with you another year.

Thanks again for making our holiday so special.

PS We can’t believe how good the food is now in England. We lived in London/Bedfordshire for 6 years in the late 70’s and pub food was pretty ordinary then. We had some simply marvellous meals in magical settings, thanks to all the good suggestions in your notes. When the food was outstanding, I wrote reviews on Trip Adviser….

Thanks again!

Route: Marazion to Falmouth
Name: Linda
When: 03 August 2014

Flag of the NetherlandsJust a few lines to let you know that I had the most wonderful trip on my walk around the Lizard.

The weather wasn't just kind, it was fantastic, almost too warm. Accommodations perfect, lovely people.

When I reached Falmouth last week Tuesday, I felt ready to do it all again.

Must say I didn't do the whole distance, days 4 and 5 were too long for me, following the first part. I sorted that through alternative transportation.

But I must say, this first time walking alone and finding my way, meeting all sorts of beautiful people along the way and on the other side, hours on end with nobody but me, was the best choice I could have made.

Thanks for all your help and advice and see you next time.

Route: Porthleven to Falmouth
Name: Charlie - Australia
When: 24 July 2014

Flag of AustraliaSorry for delay in responding - the walk was great. Excellent organization; bag transfer went without a hitch and the accommodation was lovely too.  The weather was superb (almost too hot at times and we're from Australia!), had some unexpected swims, most notably at Kynance Cove. Looking forward to coming back and walking further next time!

Route: penzance to falmouth
Name: john and chris
When: 17 July 2014

Flag of the United KingdomThank-you for the organisation of everything-our accommodation was great,our luggage with fresh clothes was always waiting for us and was a very welcoming site!! The weather was absolutely beautiful which made the scenery even more stunning. We've got home expecting to have lost weight only to find we've gained!! What do they put in the cider I wonder?? We will definitely book another walk if the knees will hold up. Thank-you!

Route: Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Corinne Davies
When: 28 June 2014

Flag of the United KingdomOne of our best holidays ever! Encounter were extremely efficient despite very short notice - thank you Damon! Particularly enjoyed the scenery (and seals!) at Cudden Point, the beautiful coastline from Porthleven to Lizard Point and crossing Helford River on the ferry. Didn't realise the sea could be turquoise in this country! Would recommend the cappuccinos at Poldhu Cove and the friendly welcome at The Top House in Lizard Town. Only became 'locationaly displaced' at one point walking around Gillan Creek - just after the walk up out of Gillan the directions said to proceed diagonally across the second field however sweet corn had been planted and the path was obscured - eventually spied the ladder over the field edge but retraced our steps a couple of times before we saw it. All in all a fabulous, fabulous trip!

Route: Lizard Marazion to Falmouth
Name: Sheryl -
When: 09 April 2014

Flag of CanadaWe were completely lucky with the weather, was spectacular. Everything was great as usual. The accommodation in Marizion was wonderful and a great place to land after the long haul from Canada to Cornwall. We “cheated” a bit and took a bus one day and taxi another as we were a bit tired but still managed to hike every day. We saw a pod of dolphins and one Caugh (sp?) on the cliffs (the emblem of Cornwall bird). We really loved Lizard Town and had a wild Saturday night party at the Witch Ball with the locals. That was a definite highlight. The golf course poshy place was a bit weird but we managed OK without the proper dining attire (LOL). All in all another awesome adventure in beautiful Cornwall. Thanks so much again and talk soon !!

Route: Marazion to Falmouth and a Lostwithiel Walk
Name: Monica
When: 10 October 2013

Flag of CanadaWe had a very lovely time and think the walk was absolutely beautiful! The fact that we were so

lucky with the weather did not hurt either.  I think all the arrangements you made for us were great and it all worked out beautifully. We did get lost a couple of times, but always due to our own stupidity, not lack of information. Just added to the adventure. We did find the walk a lot more strenuous than we had expected though, mainly because of the constant (and mostly very steep) up and downs. It slowed us down quite a bit, as of course did the breathtaking scenery requiring constant stopping to admire and photograph. Also we have never done anything like this, so probably most of your walkers would be in much better shape than us. But we live to tell the tale, so all is good.

Also we loved the gardens, particularly Trebah - I think anybody who does the coastal walk should take the time to see that, it is so magical. We also enjoyed Glendurgan, but if someone only wants to do one, it should definitely be Trebah.  In Lostwithiel we did enjoy Lanhydrock, but we're very glad we decided to go and see Restormel, which we thought was lovely and the more interesting and enjoyable of the two.

We would definitely recommend the walk to others - it is totally fantastic. As to the organization by Encounter - we think it is absolutely amazing how well everything was organized and everything happened without a hitch, no problems anywhere. We particularly appreciated all the pointers on what to look for, (loved those crows with the red beaks and feet, however never did see any sharks - probably basking in the Med by now) and the really good info on eating places for both lunch and dinner.

A big THANK YOU to you Damon, for doing all the organizing so well and so make it very easy for us to enjoy it all - it was very special.

Route: Land`s End-Mevagissey
Name: John Waters
When: 10 September 2013

Flag of the United KingdomVery fine walk. Excellent arrangements throughout. At a few weeks shy of 80 - itineraries all well within my capabilities - most days finishing by 4-5 pm with a 9 am [ish] start. Much less strenuous than North Coast route for example - so I would estimate that the categories were all one degree excessive. Strenuous being Moderate plus and so on. Some path diversions but all very clear with no ambiguity. One or two places not so well signed and route difficult to discern. This especially approaching Kynance where I did lose my way. However as this day was marked by a very dense sea mist this might be an unfair criticism. B & Bs were almost all [tho varied] very good with helpful proprietors. The only downside was The Grove at Falmouth. The room being next to some machinery/plumbing [?] which was the noisiest operation I have encountered. Luggage transfer as well as transfer from Train all excellent. Even in mid Sept. a number of other walkers - both day trippers and half a dozen or so coastal path walkers. A very enjoyable holiday.

Route: Penzance -Falmouth
Name: koen bossuyt
When: 18 August 2013

Flag of BelgiumVery well organised, thanks for that. Route very beautiful. Minor diversions well sign posted. Had a timing issue on the ferry transfer at Helmond River. Impossible to combine B&B breakfast planning with low tide break on ferry, but that was only a minor issue (approx 2 hours waiting time). Thanks for the high quality service !!

Route: Penzance to Falmouth in 10 days
Name: Josep (cat)
When: 06 August 2013

Flag of SpainEverything was OK, weather was magnificent, even too sunny. All accomodation places were expecting us, rooms where ready, clean and fine etc. Luggage transfers had no incidences, etc. With plenty of signals along the path we almost did not need maps or gps tracking. The path has very good infrastructure, it is well maintained, has a lot of signals, and clean public facilities in remote places, etc. We got lost once between Gillan and Helford where the path went straight through a maize corn field! Some hightlights: * walk from Penzance to Marazion in low tide across the huge beach * take the boat trip sailing up the Fal river from Falmouth to Truro

Route: St Ives to Lizard Village
Name: Agneta Pettersson
When: 30 July 2013

Flag of SwedenThanks for a well organized walking holiday. The guide book was sufficient for us so the maps were somewhat redundant. As pointed out in the guide book there were areas that were not well marked but we managed to find our way. Places which the guide book noted as muddy really was - even if the weather had been good for a while. The walking times in the guide book was far too optimistic! And we did not agree on some of the opinions (good and bad) on cafés on the trail. As foreigners we appreciated staying at small picturesque places like Zennor, Marazion, Porthleven and Lizard Village. We took a detour from the trail to St Just for lunch, well worth the extra hour. On the other hand Sennen Cove was not more than a standard small beach resort and maybe not the best option for a rest.

Route: Penzance to Cadgwith
Name: Craig and Sue
When: 23 July 2013

Flag of the United KingdomGreat holiday with excellent weather. Route notes provided by Encounter were very good and enabled the map to be followed easily. Luggage transfers were smooth. Accommodation was varied. Some B&Bs were better than others, but that was probably due to our late change of dates into the school holiday period. We had the South West Coast Path almost to ourselves on many days. Only saw six other people between Mullion and Kynance! Wildflowers were great - in full bloom along the route, providing lots of colour and interest.

Route: from Falmouth to penzance (reverse)
Name: Paula Bezuijen
When: 19 July 2013

Flag of the NetherlandsA very pleasant walk. Itinerary was clear and helpful. Pick up Luggage well organised. As we did the walk in reverse the coast to caost handbook was a bit hard to follow so the extra handbook was very useful. we apprciated the efford you to took in e-mailing with useful tips and extra information.

Route: Marazion to Falmouth
Name: Dennis & Angela Quantrill
When: 12 July 2013

Flag of the United KingdomThis was an excellent walk with plenty of interesting scenery. We had no problems with the route although in some places the signs were few and far between. However by being careful and keeping an eye on the map we had no difficulties. There were plenty of places where we could get refreshments - just as well as some days it was very hot! We did make a detour between Coverack and Porthallow where, because we were feeling pretty tired because of the heat, we cut inland along a well-marked path to St Keverne and on to Porthallow. By chance it took us very close to the Roskilly Ice-cream farm- surprise, surprise! The accommodation was generally very good and in some cases top class. We would recommend eating at Kota in Portleven - excellent food and good value on the fixed menu. We also had a great evening sitting on the terrace in the late evening sunshine at Pizza Express near the Maritime Museum in Falmouth. The organisation by Damon and the Encounter crew was first-class and we again felt we had personal service - very many thanks.

Route: Falmouth - St Ives
Name: Kurt Waldburger
When: 11 July 2013

Flag of SwitzerlandWe have been very lucky with the weather. We didn't see any raindrop. This gave a good base for a wonderful experience. Normally the walk is done the other way round, but I would it do again like this because like this we had an increase in the beauty of landscape. And I think it is better to end the walk in St Ives than in Falmouth. With a few exeptions it was very easy to find the way. It is a very good signalisation with the signs. The Explorer Maps are very helpful and we didn't need any other description. The organisation was excellent and we didn't have any issues with it. The selection of accomodations was great and between a good walking distance. Damon did an excellent job! Thanks a lot for all!!

Route: St Ives to Falmouth via St Michael`s Way
Name: Tara and Ute
When: 30 June 2013

Flag of GermanyWe had a fantastic 8 days walking. The weather started wet but got better and better and even allowed for swimming! After a day sightseeing in St. Ives we followed St Michael`s Way across land to Marazion. This was the only part of our trek that required using the map but to be honest without the fantastic notes from Encounter we would have been totally lost. Visibility was poor and many signs missing or lying on their sides!

From Marazion on signposting was excellent and it was never a problem to follow the coast path. There are too many highlights (stunning views, super beach cafes etc.) to mention them all but our meal (and the B&B) at Kota Restaurant in Porthleven was great and I would highly recommend booking a table there. Kynance Cove was superb and I regret missing low tide and a chance to explore the beach there. Lizard Village was a bit of a let down compared to other villages we saw along the way but we did see a very rare Cornish Chough at Lizard Point! Mullion and Coverack were our favorite villages.

Recommend The Cornish Curry Company (selling from a van in Mullion tues + thurs evenings) and great fish and chips in Coverack. All aspects of the planning and organisation went very smoothly. Luggage transfer was excellent and all our B&Bs gave a friendly welcome. Anne at Fernleigh in Coverack spoilt us with homemade Lemon Sponge and after many full English breakfasts we were happy to see some thoughtful alternatives on offer at Gold Martin in Mawnan Smith. Will most certainly use Encounter Walking again and have already recommended you to friends. Thanks again for a wonderful walking break!

Route: Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Richard Willis
When: 14 May 2013

Flag of the United KingdomAll the arrangements were excellent as was the booked accommodation. We had a few issues with the waymarked path (posts & arrows missing) particularly between Marazion & Praa Sands although the heavy rain did not help! We will be using you again in 2014 to walk Falmouth to Plymouth.

Route: Lizard area
Name: Dan/Sue Greig
When: 09 May 2013

Flag of AustraliaJust completed a 6-day walk from Perranuthnoe to Falmouth, organised by Encounter. Lots of magnificent coastal scenery and pretty little villages. Itinerary was very suitable for our age (65) and level of fitness; my wife notes that walking speeds are surprisingly slow for those with short legs ill-matched to larger steps. Route notes were excellent, with no problem finding our way or managing coffee/food stops. Accommodation was variable in style but very acceptable, and breakfasts excellent. Luggage movements were flawless. The weather was fresh to gale-force windy, but generally dry. Yes, we will do another leg of the path if the opportunity arises, and we will recommend Encounter to others.

Route: Lizard
Name: Terry Coon
When: 08 May 2013

Flag of the United States of AmericaSix of us from Portland, Oregon, USA did a 5 day walk from Marazion to Coverack. What a great trip - Damon and team helped us from the early planning stages back last Fall all the way through to the van that picked us up at the end and ferried us back to Penzance for the train. We stayed at 5 great inns (the beer was terrific!) and luggage delivery was reliable and on time. We started with a rest day in Marazion. That may seem counterintuitive, but since we needed a little time to to recover from an 8 hour time change and we wanted to see St Michael's Mount, it really worked out well. The only thing that could have been better was the weather, and we can't blame Encounter Walking for that. Since we are from Oregon, a little rain and clouds don't bother us. This was the first walking trip for any of us. It really went off without a hitch. Can't say enough about Encounter Walking!

Route: Marazion to Coverack
Name: George and Terry
When: 08 May 2013

Flag of the United States of AmericaThis walk surpassed our expectations. We (along with 4 other friends) chose this stretch to experience a "moderate to strenuous" hike which accurately describes it! Over 5 days we saw such beautiful and dramatic coastline. All of our accomodations were comfortable, offering good meals and beers! We worked with Damon at Encounter Walking who was excellent at organizing our walk and was always very responsive to answering all of our questions. Looking forward to organizing our next walk with Encounter in the near future.

Route: Penzance to Falmouth
Name: David and Helena
When: 13 April 2013

Flag of the United KingdomA very good trip overall. This walk will give you good variety of trees, bluffs, surf beaches, smugglers' coves, small remote villages and the big town of Falmouth. This part of Cornwall is also a good place to eat. The route is clearly marked and the guidebook accurately identifies potential wrong turns. We only used the OS maps to see our relative location and what other towns were around us. We did not need them to stay on the Coast Path. As noted in the guide book the path can be very muddy in parts due to either rain and underground springs. The weather was very windy which made for great waves. We were fortunate too see more sun than rain but we mostly saw cloud.

We brought our dog and took lots of photos so we were normally 30 to 60 minutes slower than the predicted walking time. If you like to stop and take a look around frequently at the crashing waves, the views over the edge, the light house in the distance, or the errant cow or pony on the trail you might take longer, too. The longest day was from Coverack to Mawnan Smith / Helford Passage. The need for lodging that allowed dogs limited our choices and lengthened the route. We also waited an hour for the tide to fall at Gillian's Creek rather than walk around. Note that the ferry across the Helford River only runs until 5:00 p.m. (not 5:30 p.m. as stated in the guide book). We just made it. We would have liked to make the 2 mile diversion to Roskilly's Farm on the same day or visit the Trebah Gardens which sit on the path, but we did not have time to do it on this stretch. By comparison, the next day from Mawnan Smith was a breeze. There was good or great service at all of the B&Bs and hotels. Almost all were of very high quality. It is very nice to have a cup of tea and be offered cake by your host at the end of the day. It is a lovely area and we look forward to coming back to explore more.

Route: Coast Path Penzance to Lizard
Name: Michael and Lynne (Australia)
When: 09 September 2012

Flag of AustraliaWe did get lost before Kyneton cove. Ended up on a farm track leading to a public footpath. I’ll email a couple of pics so you know where I mean. I think we missed a turn off leading closer to the cliffs....... All days were great. Scenery fantastic, St Michael’s mount really interesting.......

Route: Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Sue (UK)
When: 01 September 2012

Flag of the United KingdomDifficult navigation after Marazion. Maybe because we were novice at this point. Instructions could have been a little clearer....... It’s hard to say the best day, because all so good and varied. However, I loved the walk to the Lizard, and Sue loved the walk to Helford.Saw a pod of dolphins up close on approach to the Lizard.

We loved crossing Gillan creek – would recommend bare foot on hot day – wonderful feeling.

As you enter Coverack take the route as directed to the left. DO NOT follow the old coast path to the right as we did (and others). It is very badly overgrown and very tricky. There are warnings, but we didn’t heed them as it was the old coast path.

There is a new place called the Fat Apples Café on the enclosed path leading to Portallow.Strongly recommend for refreshments and homemade cakes. Apple juice very welcome.
Strongly recommend Warwick House – the owners were very hospitable in a quiet but generous way. Lovely food, best breakfast until last day in Hotel, vey comfy.

Strongly recommend The Caerthillian – again great host. Offered to dry our boots. Extremely comfy bed. Good breakfast.

The Grove Hotel was an excellent end, great and varied breakfast with superb fruit. Bit noisy, but a great location. Superb room.

Tell people to take their boots off and walk the creek! We saw others struggle with the stepping place very unsatisfactory.
Worked like clockwork thanks!

Route: Marazion to Falmouth South West Coast Path
Name: Kay and David (UK)
When: 15 August 2012

Flag of the United KingdomThe best days walk was the stretch from Mullion Cove is breathtaking and hard work and got good rest stops. The worst day, if it wasn’t for the weather there simply isn’t a day on this walking holiday which isn’t worth every second, we talked all the way through it about how we would like to do it all again...... At the moment a lot of the trail is over grown and could do with some maintenance, it is just the monumental amount of rain we have had this year. A little care and taking your time is all that’s requires- defiantly long trousers and probably gaiters..... From the Cornwall Coast Path calculator it says Mullion to Cadgwith 10.4 miles and I think the leaflet we received said 9. Anyway with the mud it took us 6 hours (walking time)...... Everything went extremely smoothly, baggage transfers etc, truly wonderful holiday and genuinely nothing but positive things to say about Encounter.

Route: Penzance to Falmouth South West Coast Path
Name: Shona and Peter
When: 17 July 2012

Encounter Walking Holidays logoThe best days walk was around the Lizard, the scenery was fantastic....... We were slightly slower, but we did stop to enjoy beaches, cups of tea, talk to people etc..... they were very welcoming at the Five Pilchards and the food very good. The Cove restaurant near Mawnan Smith was very enjoyable and a lovely setting.

Route: South West Coast Path - Perranuthnoe to Falmouth
Name: Mark and Elisabeth (Denmark)
When: 21 June 2012

Flag of DenmarkWe lost the trail just after Porthallow, a SWCP sign was propped up after falling. We did not mind seeing some “inland” scenery, but it took a little while to find “permitted” paths. Best day was the first day, Perranuthnoe to Porthleven- simply because it was so wonderful to “be back”..... Thw worst day was Cadgwith to Porthallow pretty muddy footing, and the bushes were not trimmed yet. Otherwise the path is well-tended....... Victoria Inn has especially fine cooking......We find the private Band B providers (this time Gallen-Treath and Gold Martin) to be the most pleasant and comfortable places to stay. The other places were fine, but we felt that extra welcome from our hosts the two places mentioned. First-rate!.... The information supplied was excellent!  Your worst competitor for next summer is my own desire to try and arrange a similar walking trip here in Denmark where we have our summer house. A peninsula that could be compared to Cornwall as a "little brother" (very little!)

Route: South West Coast Path - Falmouth to St Ives
Name: Kurt and Regina (Germany)
When: 11 June 2012

Flag of GermanyWe had no problems finding the route, but we had our gps device with us. I think if the weather is not too bad there will be no problems finding the route...... All the days were fine we had alot of fun and a beautiful walk on the path. Only one day was bad because of the weather...... Normally we were in time, rather a bit slower than expected, but we were on holidays not on escape, so we really enjoyed our time on the path...... One of the best restaurants we had dinner was the Navy Inn in Penzance, it is not far from the accommodation and has really excellent food.......All of the accommodation was fine, with nice ensuite rooms and very friendly owners...... The nicest B and B was in Mawnan Smith there is a spacious rooms with a fine bathroom and a very obliging owner. For breakfast we had delicious self-made bread and jam. Really excellent.....The organisation, accommodation and luggage transfer was perfect, we have nothing to criticize. Hope we can return another year to walk another part of the path.

Route: South West Coast Path - Penzance to Porthallow
Name: Brian (UK)
When: 27 May 2012

Flag of the United KingdomA brilliant 3 days! Some of the best walking I have done. Fortunately I had some good weather. Harder than I expected, Cornish miles are like their pasties, bigger than everyone else’s! More climbing than I expected as well, especially on the first day. Each day was a ‘full days’ walk, I probably exceeded your estimates on all 3 days, and I wasn’t hanging about...... The coastal path guides supplied by yourselves were very informative, accurate and useful. The only thing missing from the walk description in the guides is ‘feet of ascent’, something that is included in mountain walking guides; the amount of climbing took me rather by surprise; the walk is more strenuous than the mileage would imply; others may be caught in the same way......Accommodation was very good; I expected to prefer staying in pubs rather than B&Bs, but to be honest it was the other way round; the B&Bs were more personal. Your organization was spot-on, thank-you All in all, a very enjoyable and memorable experience, I’m already thinking about St.Ives to Penzance for next year! I will certainly recommend your services to friends and colleagues at work.

Route: South West Coast Path - Penzance to Falmouth
Name: Markus and Sabina (Switzerland)
When: 12 May 2012

Swiss FlagI know, in the meantime a lot of water run down the themse but we often remember our beautiful walking days in Cornwall. All the paths were well signed except for a few hundred meters after dean quarries and before we arrived at rosenithon where there was a deviation where we could hardly find our way and where the path was very muddy. Last but not least we would like to mention, that at gillan creek there is a ferry service, when the tides are high. This ferry is mentioned also in the paper that you gave us. What we estimated a lot, was the complete information you gave us on the daily papers we had, for example the phone numbers of the taxis to get and the tips for getting refreshments before and on the way.

We will recommend your organisation to everyone who will ask us for advice in walking in cornwall and we will be booking with you on our next stay in cornwall, when we still want to walk.

With the kindest regards from switzerland